Broadway Lafayette – Subway Zydeco (2018) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Broadway Lafayette – Subway Zydeco (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 32:18 minutes | 383 MB | Genre: Alternative
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Hound Gawd!

The band formed in New York City and released a split EP on Norton Records with the intent to make Zydeco music the way it was intended to be made. “Subway Zydeco” is an album full of new experiences for the band. Mick Collins (Gories/Dirtbombs) taps into his Louisiana roots in this new project. He was inspired by the black -creole Blues, the Zydeco whose roots go back to the 18th century. The music arose as a synthesis of traditional Creole music, some Cajun music influences, and African-American traditions, including R&B, blues, jazz, and gospel. Melodeon, accordion and French lyrics are still the foundation of Broadway Lafayettes’ music.’

There are 11 tracks on offer. ‘Zydeco Music’ kicks things off with an upbeat introduction to what’s about to unfold; the energy is evident and it sounds like its being played with a smile. ‘Bad Luck Joe’ is more laid back and bluesy. The theme is getting clearer as ‘One Thing At A Time’ sounds like something Chuck Prophet knocks out over the years, or even his old band Green On Red was capable of from time to time. There are also lyrics in French, on ‘Girl De Hong Kong’, as it ebbs and flows in a most laid-back fashion. ‘Bayou Lover’ gets down in the swamp like a Tom Waits record, and that honkin’ harmonica is a wonderful thing.

Mick Collins teamed up with Matt Verta-Ray (Speedball Babies, Heavy Trash) and his wife Rocio, together with Xavier Bray, Robin Arthur Girod and Cyril Yeterian of Mama Rosin, the legendary wild Cajun Combat Outfit from Geneva Switzerland – Swiss Army knife players, distinctive and in the pocket. They recorded on the fly, never doing a song the same way twice. That’s what gives Subway Zydeco its relentless energy – and with a band this killer, you’ve got to let them off the leash.

01 – Zydeco Music
02 – Bad Luck Joe
03 – One Thing at a Time
04 – Precious
05 – Girl De Hong Kong
06 – Bayou Lover
07 – Méchante
08 – Limpiar
09 – Angola Dreams
10 – Ou est-tu?
11 – Ballade

Produced, Recorded & Mixed by Matt and Rocio Verta-Ray at NY Hed Studio, NYC.
Mastered by Fred Kevorkian.

Xavier Bray – Drums, Percussion
Mick Collins – Vocals
Robin Arthur Girod – Guitar, Bass, Vocals, Percussion
Matt Verta-Ray – Guitar, Bass, Backing Vocals
Rocio Verta-Ray – Organ, Piano, Vocals
Cyril Yeterian – Melodeon, Accordion, Vocals