Brian Bromberg – Bromberg Plays Hendrix (2012) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Brian Bromberg – Bromberg Plays Hendrix (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 49:58 minutes | 1,03 GB | Genre: Jazz, Fusion
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Mack Avenue Records
Recorded: December 2009 – March 2010 at B² Studios, Los Angeles; Carvin Basses recorded June – July 2011 at B² Studios, Los Angeles

The collection rocks hard as Bromberg innovatively crafted smoldering versions of Hendrix’s hallmark hits including “Fire,” “Manic Depression,” “The Wind Cries Mary,” “All Along The Watchtower,” “Foxey Lady” and “Purple Haze.” “It sounds live yet it was all overdubs.

“A few really amazing things happened to me when I was recording those tracks with my father; those tracks originally were recorded before I was born, so it was such a trip playing with my Dad before I was even on this planet! When I was playing with him I realized at that moment where I got my time feel and swing from, it was effortless to play with him, mind-blowing actually.”

On Bromberg Plays Hendrix, bassist Brian Bromberg doesn’t utilize the electric guitar at all, but it’s hard to tell. A tribute to one of the world’s most inventive guitarists could only be honored by doing something completely different from what is expected. Bromberg manages this on both acoustic and electric piccolo bass. Whether covering sonic blasts like “Fire” and “Purple Haze” or the melancholia of “The Wind Cries Mary,” Bromberg and drummer Vinnie Colaiuta make this a worthwhile endeavor that stands up to repeated listening. -AllMusic Review by Al Campbell

1 Fire 4:42
2 Manic Depression 4:27
3 Freedom 4:47
4 The Wind Cries Mary 4:13
5 All Along The Watchtower 4:41
6 Foxy Lady 4:48
7 Hey Joe 6:28
8 Crosstown Traffic 3:43
9 Spanish Castle Magic 5:39
10 Purple Haze 6:43

Brian Bromberg – Carvin B²5 Five String Fretless Bass, Carvin B²5 Four String Fretless Bass, Piccolo Bass, Steel Acoustic Piccolo Bass, BSX Electric Upright Bass, Tenor Bass, Vocals
Vinnie Colaiuta – Drums
Tom McCauley – Vocals
Bruce Stone – Vocals