Brandy Clark – Live From Los Angeles (2017) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Brandy Clark – Live From Los Angeles (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 42:00 minutes | 251 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Warner Bros. Records

After critically-acclaimed country recording artist Brandy Clark hit Los Angeles’ renowned Hotel Café last year, Randy Lewis of the Los Angeles Times proclaimed that she is “by and large is handling her transformation from behind-the-scenes songwriter to woman in the spotlight pretty effortlessly”. Her sophomore album, “Big Day In A Small Town”, which garnered her two GRAMMY-nominations and topped “Best Of” lists from critics such as NPR, Rolling Stone, Billboard, Entertainment Weekly, and more. Now, Clark has released digital release of her iconic Hotel Café performance with her first ever live album, “Live From Los Angeles” that Randy Lewis calls “smart to the core”.

Brandy Clark is one of the most in-demand singer-songwriter’s in Nashville. She’s penned hits for the cream of the Country music genre including Kacey Musgraves, Miranda Lambert, Darius Rucker, David Nail, Reba McEntire, Toby Keith and Keith Urban to name a few. She built on the success of her debut album 12 Stories, released in 2013, with 2016’s Big Day in a Small Town. To coincide with her recent UK tour, Clark released Live From Los Angeles digitally.

The best way to experience Clark is live. Don’t get me wrong, she sounds great on record but seeing her live is a completely different experience. Live From Los Angeles captures her fantastic vocals and it also showcases her brilliant personality. Clark is very funny with a sarcastic sense of humour, something that we Brits appreciate. You know from her songs that she’s a great storyteller so it should come as no surprise that she’s a good at interacting with an audience too. Live From Los Angeles opens with Drinkin’ Smokin’ Cheatin’, a song that she says gives a ‘little bit of an insight’ before joking that she’ll hit all of the ‘favourite sins’. Clark then launches into Stripes, her debut single and a fan favourite. The song showcases Clark’s knack for a biting lyric and it’s one of her finest songs to date. Big Day in a Small Town, the title track from Clark’s current album, is an observational song about the dramas that go on in a small town. Clark is a keen people watcher and the detail she packs into her songs is really impressive. The emotional Hold My Hand is a song that gets me every time I hear Clark sing it live. Her voice sounds stunning on this live version. Elsewhere on the record Clark puts her own twist on having a broken heart with Love Can Go to Hell, explores a women frustrated with her lot on Get High, and Since You’ve Gone to Heaven is a heartbreaking story about losing your father. Clark brings her set to a close with Pray to Jesus, which is yet another example of how smart a lyricist she is.

Live From Los Angeles is a great performance from Clark. She’s one of the best singer-songwriters, of any genre and she deserves way more credit as an artist than she often gets. Sometimes live albums aren’t worth getting as they sound exactly like the record but Clark always excels as a live performer so this release is definitely worth your time and money.

01 – Drinkin’ Smokin’ Cheatin’
02 – Stripes
03 – Big Day in a Small Town
04 – Hold My Hand
05 – Daughter
06 – Love Can Go to Hell
07 – Girl Next Door
08 – Get High
09 – When I Get to Drinkin’
10 – Since You’ve Gone to Heaven
11 – Pray to Jesus

Recorded live on September 12, 2016 at the Hotel Café in Los Angeles, California.