Bobby Womack – The Poet (2021) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Bobby Womack – The Poet (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 39:56 minutes | 1,22 GB | Genre: Soul
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Abkco Music & Records, Inc.

Newly remastered from the original tapes, 2021 marks the 40th anniversary of the initial release of The Poet, the Bobby Womack album that served to relaunch his career and established him as a renewed force to be reckoned with in R&B in the 1980s.

“Eschewing the orchestrated sound that dominated much of his 1970s output, the Across 110th Street soundtrack being the definitive example, with The Poet Womack stays in that slick vein, but this time does so with a soft jazz feel. Workouts like “Where Do We Go from Here” contain long intros and codas with Womack’s gruff vocal style trading off with the silky voices of a female choir; on “So Many Sides of You,” one of the more rollicking songs on the record, the piano, drums, and Nathan East’s bass are as crisp as a new dollar bill. A bonus, aside from the songs, is the great cover art, which shows Womack decked out in a lavender sports coat and a pair of sunglasses, which only someone of his soulful grace could pull off.” (Steve Kurutz, AMG)


1. Bobby Womack – So Many Sides Of You
2. Bobby Womack – Lay Your Lovin’ On Me
3. Bobby Womack – Secrets
4. Bobby Womack – Just My Imagination
5. Bobby Womack – Stand Up
6. Bobby Womack – Games
7. Bobby Womack – If You Think You’re Lonely Now
8. Bobby Womack – Where Do We Go From Here