Bob Dylan – Oh Mercy (1989/2014) [HDTracks 24bit/96kHz]

Bob Dylan – Oh Mercy (1989/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 39:01 minutes | 841 MB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Front cover | Source: HDTracks

Oh Mercy was releasd on September 18, 1989 and is Bob Dylan’s 26th studio album. It was produced by Daniel Lanois and was a huge success after several previous albums had been given a tepid reception by critics. Oh Mercy peaked at #30 on the charts in the US and #6 in the UK.

Oh Mercy was hailed as a comeback, not just because it had songs noticeably more meaningful than anything Bob Dylan had recently released, but because Daniel Lanois’ production gave it cohesion. There was cohesion on Empire Burlesque, of course, but that cohesion was a little too slick, a little too commercial, whereas this record was filled with atmospheric, hazy production — a sound as arty as most assumed the songs to be. And Dylan followed suit, giving Lanois significant songs — palpably social works, love songs, and poems — that seemed to connect with his past. And, at the time, this production made it seem like the equivalent of his ’60s records, meaning that its artiness was cutting edge, not portentous. Over the years, Oh Mercy hasn’t aged particularly well, seeming as self-conscious as such other gauzy Lanois productions as So and The Joshua Tree, even though it makes more sense than the ersatz pizzazz of Burlesque. Still, the songs make Oh Mercy noteworthy; they find Dylan quietly raging against the materialism of President Reagan and accepting maturity, albeit with a slight reluctance. So, Oh Mercy is finally more interesting for what it tries to achieve than for what it actually does achieve. At its best, this is a collection of small, shining moments, with the best songs shining brighter than their production or the album’s overall effect.

01 – Political World
02 – Where Teardrops Fall
03 – Everything Is Broken
04 – Ring Them Bells
05 – Man in the Long Black Coat
06 – Most of the Time
07 – What Good Am I?
08 – Disease of Conceit
09 – What Was It You Wanted
10 – Shooting Star


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.