Bob Dylan – Highway 61 Revisited (1965/2012) [HDTracks 24bit/96kHz]

Bob Dylan – Highway 61 Revisited (1965/2012) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 51:31 minutes | 1,19 GB
Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover

Highway 61 Revisited is the seminal masterpiece by Bob Dylan. It is listed at #4 on Rolling Stone’s “500 Greatest Albums of All Time” and features the #1 song on Rolling Stone’s “500 Greatest Songs of All Time,” “Like A Rolling Stone.” It peaked at #3 on the Billboard 200 and is one of NME’s “Greatest Albums of All Time”.


Taking the first, electric side of Bringing It All Back Home to its logical conclusion, Bob Dylan hired a full rock & roll band, featuring guitarist Michael Bloomfield, for Highway 61 Revisited. Opening with the epic “Like a Rolling Stone,” Highway 61 Revisited careens through nine songs that range from reflective folk-rock (“Desolation Row”) and blues (“It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry”) to flat-out garage rock (“Tombstone Blues,” “From a Buick 6,” “Highway 61 Revisited”). Dylan had not only changed his sound, but his persona, trading the folk troubadour for a streetwise, cynical hipster. Throughout the album, he embraces druggy, surreal imagery, which can either have a sense of menace or beauty, and the music reflects that, jumping between soothing melodies to hard, bluesy rock. And that is the most revolutionary thing about Highway 61 Revisited — it proved that rock & roll needn’t be collegiate and tame in order to be literate, poetic, and complex.

01 – Like A Rolling Stone
02 – Tombstone Blues
03 – It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry
04 – From A Buick 6
05 – Ballad Of A Thin Man
06 – Queen Jane Approximately
07 – Highway 61 Revisited
08 – Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues
09 – Desolation Row


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.