Bob Dylan – Blood On The Tracks (1975/2014) [HDTracks 24bit/96kHz]

Bob Dylan – Blood On The Tracks (1975/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 51:40 minutes | 1,16 GB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Front cover | Source: HDTracks

Blood on the Tracks was Bob Dylan’s fifteenth studio album and is considered to be one of his best albums of his career. Full of songs about heartache, anger, and loneliness, the album has since been regarded as the standard for a confessional singer-songwriter album. After its release, Blood on the Tracks reached #1 on the Billboard 200 charts and #4 on the UK Albums Chart, and eventually went double-platinum in the US. The single “Tangled Up in Blue” reached #31 on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart.

Following on the heels of an album where he repudiated his past with his greatest backing band, Blood on the Tracks finds Bob Dylan, in a way, retreating to the past, recording a largely quiet, acoustic-based album. But this is hardly nostalgia — this is the sound of an artist returning to his strengths, what feels most familiar, as he accepts a traumatic situation, namely the breakdown of his marriage. This is an album alternately bitter, sorrowful, regretful, and peaceful, easily the closest he ever came to wearing his emotions on his sleeve. That’s not to say that it’s an explicitly confessional record, since many songs are riddles or allegories, yet the warmth of the music makes it feel that way. The original version of the album was even quieter — first takes of “Idiot Wind” and “Tangled Up in Blue,” available on The Bootleg Series, Vols. 1-3, are hushed and quiet (excised verses are quoted in the liner notes, but not heard on the record) — but Blood on the Tracks remains an intimate, revealing affair since these harsher takes let his anger surface the way his sadness does elsewhere. As such, it’s an affecting, unbearably poignant record, not because it’s a glimpse into his soul, but because the songs are remarkably clear-eyed and sentimental, lovely and melancholy at once. And, in a way, it’s best that he was backed with studio musicians here, since the professional, understated backing lets the songs and emotion stand at the forefront. Dylan made albums more influential than this, but he never made one better.

01 – Tangled up in Blue
02 – Simple Twist of Fate
03 – You’re a Big Girl Now
04 – Idiot Wind
05 – You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go
06 – Meet Me in the Morning
07 – Lily, Rosemary and the Jack of Hearts
08 – If You See Her, Say Hello
09 – Shelter from the Storm
10 – Buckets of Rain

Recorded September 16-19, 1974 at A&R Recording in New York, NY and December 27-30, 1974 at Sound 80 in Minneapolis, MN.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.