Bob Dylan – Blonde On Blonde (1966/2014) [HDTracks 24bit/96kHz]

Bob Dylan – Blonde On Blonde (1966/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 73:02 minutes | 1,61 GB
Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover

Blonde on Blonde is Bob Dylan’s seventh studio album and was released on May 16, 1966 on Columbia Records. Recorded in New York and Nashville, the album features Dylan’s live backing band, The Hawks, and was one of the first double albums of rock music. The final recording sessions were done at CBS studios in Nashville and included some of Nashville’s top session musicians.

The album is the final of a trilogy of rock albums recorded by Dylan between 1965 and 1966 (the other two being Bringing It All Back Home and Highway 61 Revisited). Blonde on Blonde has been consistently ranked by critics as one of the greatest albums of all time. Cementing Dylan’s transition to electric rock, the album demonstrates Dylan’s incredible songwriting and lyrical skill and is truly a masterpiece.


If Highway 61 Revisited played as a garage rock record, the double album Blonde on Blonde inverted that sound, blending blues, country, rock, and folk into a wild, careening, and dense sound. Replacing the fiery Michael Bloomfield with the intense, weaving guitar of Robbie Robertson, Bob Dylan led a group comprised of his touring band the Hawks and session musicians through his richest set of songs. Blonde on Blonde is an album of enormous depth, providing endless lyrical and musical revelations on each play. Leavening the edginess of Highway 61 with a sense of the absurd, Blonde on Blonde is comprised entirely of songs driven by inventive, surreal, and witty wordplay, not only on the rockers but also on winding, moving ballads like “Visions of Johanna,” “Just Like a Woman,” and “Sad Eyed Lady of the Lowlands.” Throughout the record, the music matches the inventiveness of the songs, filled with cutting guitar riffs, liquid organ riffs, crisp pianos, and even woozy brass bands (“Rainy Day Women #12 & 35″). It’s the culmination of Dylan’s electric rock & roll period — he would never release a studio record that rocked this hard, or had such bizarre imagery, ever again.

01 – Rainy Day Women #12 & 35
02 – Pledging My Time
03 – Visions of Johanna
04 – One of Us Must Know (Sooner or Later)
05 – I Want You
06 – Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again
07 – Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat
08 – Just Like a Woman
09 – Most Likely You Go Your Way (And I’ll Go Mine)
10 – Temporary Like Achilles
11 – Absolutely Sweet Marie
12 – Fourth Time Around
13 – Obviously Five Believers
14 – Sad-Eyed Lady of the Lowlands


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.