Blaer – Yellow (2020) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Blaer – Yellow (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 56:18 minutes | 614 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Ronin Rhythm Records

This is already the third album of the working band BLAER, founded in 2012 by the composer and pianist Maja Nydegger. YELLOW is the result of a longstanding and diligent collaboration. The band concept sets on a balanced group sound and a calm, focussed flow of music.

By this genuine attitude of a differenciated common ground, this album develops an urgency and power which in all coolness radiates warmth.

Similarly to Schuberts music, where a minor tonality often contains a confident vibe, the seemingly simple, quiet and melancholical pieces of BLAER create a positive atmosphere. Surprising spins and grooves are subtly invigorating this atmosphere, yet always serving the overall dramaturgy. The leader Maja Nydegger thus offers her band a community-oriented, but crystal clear concept in which her musical partners can all serve the whole while at the same time shining through individually with their high competence on their instruments.

As a result, the lines of the reeds players (Nils Fischer and Claudio von Arx), together with the differenciated drum play of Philippe Ducommun, the often also ambient-like base of Simon Iten and the repetitive piano patterns and chord progressions of the composer herself create vast soundscapes and spherical hymns.

1. Yellow (05:51)
2. The Unknown (07:19)
3. Years (11:16)
4. Kosmo (10:06)
5. Epilog (04:58)
6. All We Need (05:16)
7. Arktis (11:33)