Billie Holiday – Body And Soul (1957/2014) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Billie Holiday – Body And Soul (1957/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 45:55 minutes | 943 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Verve

The title track is one of the most recorded jazz songs in history and Billie Holiday’s interpretation on this 1957 release is arguably considered one of the best, if not the definitive version. Producer Norman Granz brings out the best of her voice on this album from late in her career, accompanied by a superb band that includes Ben Webster on tenor sax.

This session comes from close to the end of the line (1959) in the erstwhile swinging company of Barney Kessel on guitar, Ben Webster on tenor, and naysayers will be quick to point out that Lady Day wasn’t in peak form here. But Billie Holiday with some of the platinum chipped off the pipes is still way better than a buncha finger-snappin’ wannabes anyday. Her interpretations of the title cut, “Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off,” and “Darn That Dream” hold you in the palm of her hand with their gentle swing and the band support here is never less than stellar.

01 – Body And Soul
02 – They Can’t Take That Away From Me
03 – Darn That Dream
04 – Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off
05 – Comes Love
06 – Gee Baby, Ain’t I Good To You
07 – Embraceable You
08 – Moonlight In Vermont
09 – Comes Love (Alternate Take 1 / With Studio Chatter)
10 – Comes Love (False Start / Take 2)
11 – Comes Love (False Start / Take 3)

Produced by Norman Granz.
Recorded on January 3-4, 7 & 9, 1957.

Billie Holiday – vocals
Ben Webster – tenor sax
Harry “Sweets” Edison – trumpet
Barney Kessel – guitar
Jimmy Rowles – piano
Red Mitchell – bass
Alvin Stoller – drums on “1, 3, 5 & 8”
Larry Bunker – drums on “2, 4, 6 & 7”