Bill Evans Trio – Waltz for Debby (1961/2011) [HDTracks 24bit/192kHz]

Bill Evans Trio – Waltz for Debby (1961/2011)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 65:59 minutes | 2,38 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: | @ Original Jazz Classics

A truly landmark jazz recording, 1961’s Waltz for Debby redefined the possibilities of the piano trio. Scott LaFaro’s ultra-melodic bass-work, Paul Motian’s fluid drumming, Evans’ virtuosic, impressionistic playing and the trio’s nearly telepathic interplay set a standard that has yet to be exceeded. This hi-res remastering adds new depth and warmth to an already essential audiophile live set.

Recorded at the Village Vanguard in 1961, shortly before Scott LaFaro’s death, Waltz for Debby is the second album issued from that historic session, and the final one from that legendary trio that also contained drummer Paul Motian. While the Sunday at the Village Vanguard album focused on material where LaFaro soloed prominently, this is far more a portrait of the trio on those dates. Evans chose the material here, and, possibly, in some unconscious way, revealed on these sessions — and the two following LaFaro’s death (Moonbeams and How My Heart Sings!) — a different side of his musical personality that had never been displayed on his earlier solo recordings or during his tenures with Miles Davis and George Russell: Evans was an intensely romantic player, flagrantly emotional, and that is revealed here in spades on tunes such as “My Foolish Heart” and “Detour Ahead.” There is a kind of impressionistic construction to his harmonic architecture that plays off the middle registers and goes deeper into its sonances in order to set into motion numerous melodic fragments simultaneously. The rhythmic intensity that he displayed as a sideman is evident here in “Milestones,” with its muscular shifting time signature and those large, flatted ninths with the right hand. The trio’s most impressive interplay is in “My Romance,” after Evans’ opening moments introducing the changes. Here Motian’s brushwork is delicate, flighty and elegant, and LaFaro controls the dynamic of the tune with his light as a feather pizzicato work and makes Evans’ deeply emotional statements swing effortlessly. Of the many recordings Evans issued, the two Vanguard dates and Explorations are the ultimate expressions of his legendary trio.

01 – My Foolish Heart
02 – Waltz for Debby (take 2)
03 – Detour Ahead (take 2)
04 – My Romance (take 1)
05 – Some Other Time
06 – Milestones
07 – Porgy (I Loves You Porgy)
08 – Waltz for Debby (take 1)
09 – Detour Ahead (take 1)
10 – My Romance (take 2)

Bill Evans – piano
Scott LaFaro – bass
Paul Motian – drums

Remastered by Paul Stubblebine using the Keith Johnson-designed Pacific Microsonics converter.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.