Bill Evans – Some Other Time: The Lost Session From The Black Forest (1968/2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Bill Evans – Some Other Time: The Lost Session From The Black Forest (1968/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 1:33:40 minutes | 3,05 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital booklet | @ 2xHD – Naxos

Some Other Time: The Lost Session From the Black Forest is a newly unearthed studio session from the iconic pianist Bill Evans featuring bassist Eddie Gomez and drummer Jack DeJohnette. Recorded on June 20, 1968, nearly 10 years after the legendary Kind of Blue sessions with Miles Davis and a mere five days after the trio’s incredible Grammy award-winning performance at the Montreux Jazz Festival, this is truly a landmark discovery for jazz listeners worldwide. Available in deluxe 2-CD and limited edition 2-LP sets, and containing over 90 minutes of music, this is the only studio album in existence of the Bill Evans trio with Gomez and DeJohnette. Some Other Time was recorded by the legendary MPS Records founder and producer Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer along with writer/producer Joachim-Ernst Berendt at the MPS studios in the Black Forest (Villingen, Germany).

This double album includes 93 minutes of never-before-heard studio recordings by the great Bill Evans with captivating performances by Evans in solo, duo and trio settings. It is one of the most extraordinary musical archeological finds. The recordings on this album constitute the material from a June 20th, 1968 session recorded by Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer (HGBS) and Joachim-Ernst Brendt in Germany’s Black Forest that was originally intended for release on HGBS’s legendary MPS label but for some reason were never released. This is no ordinary recording. It’s a remarkable document of an under-represented period in the career of one of the icons of Jazz.

01 – You Go To My Head
02 – Very Early
03 – What Kind Of Fool Am I?
04 – I’ll Remember April
05 – My Funny Valentine
06 – Baubles, Bangles And Beads
07 – Turn Out The Stars
08 – It Could Happen To You
09 – In A Sentimental Mood
10 – These Foolish Things
11 – Some Other Time
12 – You’re Gonna Hear From Me
13 – Walkin’ Up
14 – Baubles, Bangles And Beads
15 – It’s All Right With Me
16 – What Kind Of Fool Am I?
17 – How About You?
18 – On Green Dolphin Street
19 – Wonder Why
20 – Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be?)
21 – You’re Gonna Hear From Me [Alt take]

Recorded at MPS Studios in Villingen, Germany, June 20, 1968.

Bill Evans – piano
Eddie Gomez – bass
Jack DeJohnette – drums

2xHD is proud to be associated with Resonance Records on this exceptional project.
For the 2xHD transfer of this recording, the original 1/4”, CCIR master tape was played on a Nagra-T modified with high-end tube playback electronics, wired with OCC silver cable from the playback head direct to a Telefunken EF806 tube. The Nagra T has one of the best transports ever made, having four direct drive motors, two pinch rollers and a tape tension head.
We did an analog transfer for each high-res sampling.