Big Sean – Dark Sky Paradise {Deluxe Edition} (2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Big Sean – Dark Sky Paradise {Deluxe Edition} (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 01:00:53 minutes | 697 MB | Genre: Rap, Hip-Hop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Universal Music

“Dark Sky Paradise” is the third studio album by American rapper Big Sean. The album features guest appearances from Kanye West, Drake, Ariana Grande, Chris Brown, Ty Dolla Sign, Jhené Aiko, PartyNextDoor, Lil Wayne, John Legend and E-40, while the production was handled by a variety of collaborators, including Key Wane, DJ Mustard, DJ Dahi and Kanye West, who also serves as the album’s executive producer alongside Big Sean himself. It debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200, and in February 2016, the album was certified Platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America.

Artistically, three is the charm for Big Sean as Dark Sky Paradise is much more expansive than previous efforts, sometimes grinding with executive producer Kanye West’s love of the dark, and other times bouncing with the snark, swagger, and style that propelled this Detroit rapper to the top. “Paradise” is a prime example of the latter as it busts into the strip club with a Mike-Will-Made-It beat as Sean strings expletives together for an intricate weave, but the man who yearned to be Finally Famous with his debut got it, and is no longer drunk on fame, because as the song explains, the hangover is well underway. Just as infectious and twice as slick, “I Don’t Fuck with You” featuring E-40 drops sly lines like “These ho’s chase bread, all day/She got a bird brain,” while the great “Now I wear v-necks, people ask what happened to the crew?” comes from “Win Some, Lose Some,” a key track that links the pop side of the album to the problems side. Problems like the loss of family, as the elegant “One Man Can Change the World” gains strength from the bittersweet swirl of emotions commonly known as the five stages of grief; then there’s the ridiculous and winning “Deep,” which ruminates and stomps as if Three 6 Mafia were subbing for this week’s philosophy class. Mentor Kanye’s fingerprints are all over the beginning of the album as “Dark Sky (Skyscrapers)” slowly unfurls like a West-styled album intro, while “Blessings” and “All Your Fault” both sound as if Drake took a swing at Yeezy’s 808s and Heartbreak album and then shattered all expectations. There’s no filler, and the overall LP flow is near perfect on any non-Deluxe version that doesn’t run past the “Outro.” Wise, infectious, memorable and, as the song says, “Deep,” Dark Sky Paradise suggests that grown-up doesn’t necessarily mean beat-up, even after all the brutal punches life can throw.

01 – Dark Sky (Skyscrapers)
02 – Blessings (feat. Drake)
03 – All Your Fault (feat. Kanye West)
04 – I Don’t Fuck With You (feat. E-40)
05 – Play No Games (feat. Chris Brown & Ty Dolla $ign)
06 – Paradise (Extended)
07 – Win Some, Lose Some
08 – Stay Down
09 – I Know (feat. Jhené Aiko)
10 – Deep (feat. Lil Wayne)
11 – One Man Can Change The World (feat. John Legend & Kanye West)
12 – Outro
13 – Deserve It (feat. PARTYNEXTDOOR) [Bonus Track]
14 – Research (feat. Ariana Grande) [Bonus Track]
15 – Platinum And Wood [Bonus Track]