Benny Carter – The Early Benny Carter (1968/2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Benny Carter – The Early Benny Carter (1968/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 29:41 minutes | 494 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Archive of Folk & Jazz Music

This budget LP just contains ten short selections and does not give personnel or exact recording dates. Recorded in London during 1936-37, the brief program does contain more than its share of rewarding moments, most notably the debut recording of Carter’s “When Lights Are Low,” the advanced “Waltzin’ the Blues” (performed at a time when jazz waltzes were unheard of), the atmospheric “Nightfall,” “Just a Mood” and a fine version of “Royal Garden Blues.” Carter is heard throughout, switching between alto, clarinet, tenor and trumpet.


01. Swingin’ at Maida Vale
02. Nightfall
03. I’ve Got Two Lips
04. If Only I Could Read Your Mind
05. Gin and Jive
06. Accent on Swing
07. Just a Mood
08. Royal Garden Blues
09. When Lights Are Low
10. Waltzin’ the Blues