Bee Gees – Timeless – The All-Time Greatest Hits (2017/2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Bee Gees – Timeless – The All-Time Greatest Hits (2017/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 01:18:12 minutes | 1,53 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Bee Gees Catalog

Timeless: The All-Time Greatest Hits is a compilation album by the Bee Gees. It was released on 21 April 2017 by Capitol Records to coincide with the 40th anniversary of the Saturday Night Fever soundtrack. The album is a single-disc compilation of the group’s biggest hits selected by the group’s last surviving member, Barry Gibb. Gibb said of the compilation: “Although there are many other songs, these songs, I feel, are the songs that Maurice, Robin, and I would be most proud of.”

Most bands are lucky to get a single hit, much less a couple songs people will remember. The bands that do have a run of charting songs usually fade away after making a splash, never to be heard from again except on nostalgia tours and cruises. The Bee Gees were impressive enough to have two amazing stretches when they not only topped the charts, but helped define the music of the era. Timeless: The All-Time Greatest Hits collects the cream of the crop from both their late-’60s/early-’70s baroque pop and brilliant mid-’70s funk and disco-pop periods. Starting with their early hit from 1966, “Spicks and Specks,” then ending with 1987’s “You Win Again,” the collection gives definitive proof that the brothers Gibb were geniuses at both songwriting and making records. The baroque pop sounds were lush and moving, equally melodramatic (“New York Mining Disaster 1941”), painfully romantic (“To Love Somebody”), and emotionally devastating (“I Started a Joke”). The shift to the dancefloor and bedroom meant that the songs were lighter and slicker, with Barry’s sleek falsetto taking the lead on most of their hits. All the biggies are here from the Saturday Night Fever soundtrack, plus proto-disco jams like “Nights on Broadway,” “Jive Talkin’,” and one of their slightly under-the-radar classics, “Fanny (Be Tender with My Love).” No pop band of the past 50 years had a more impressive chart run — both commercially and artistically — than the Bee Gees, and Timeless does a fine job laying out the facts and not muddying the waters with rarities. It’s just the hits, one brilliant track after another. There are other Bee Gees collections that dive more deeply into their career, but as far as single-disc sets go, you can’t do better than this. – Tim Sendra

1. Bee Gees – Spicks And Specks
2. Bee Gees – New York Mining Disaster 1941
3. Bee Gees – To Love Somebody
4. Bee Gees – Massachusetts (Stereo Version)
5. Bee Gees – Words
6. Bee Gees – I’ve Gotta Get A Message To You
7. Bee Gees – I Started A Joke
8. Bee Gees – Lonely Days
9. Bee Gees – How Can You Mend A Broken Heart
10. Bee Gees – Jive Talkin’ (From “Saturday Night Fever” Soundtrack)
11. Bee Gees – Nights On Broadway
12. Bee Gees – Fanny (Be Tender With My Love)
13. Bee Gees – You Should Be Dancing (Edit / From “Saturday Night Fever” Soundtrack)
14. Bee Gees – How Deep Is Your Love (From “Saturday Night Fever” Soundtrack)
15. Bee Gees – Stayin’ Alive (From “Saturday Night Fever” Soundtrack)
16. Bee Gees – Night Fever (From “Saturday Night Fever” Soundtrack)
17. Bee Gees – More Than A Woman (From “Saturday Night Fever” Soundtrack)
18. Bee Gees – Too Much Heaven
19. Bee Gees – Tragedy
20. Bee Gees – Love You Inside Out
21. Bee Gees – You Win Again