Beach Youth – Postcard (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Michael Dussek – Romantic Revolution (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 32:13 minutes | 363 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Bad Seeds

While Postcard is the debut album of French indie pop group Beach Youth, it arrives eight years after they formed as students in Normandy and follows a pair of EPs as well as years of touring that helped focus their sound. That sound is a fetching mix of shimmery surf, Johnny Marr, classic indie pop, and dream pop influences perhaps most memorably illustrated on second track “Love Yourself II.” It follows the druggy, airport-evoking, minute-long intro, “Love Yourself I,” which serves to ask the question, “Why are you always so hard on yourself?” The band then launch into the effervescent Part II, whose brisk tempo, melodic guitar line, layers of strummed guitar, and tender vocals capture the romanticism of acts like the Field Mice and songs like the Cure’s “In Between Days.” Much of the album follows suit, with dreamy and melancholy yet energetic indie pop tunes, though Beach Youth stay clear of becoming too formulaic with tracks such as the slower, more eccentric “Around Me,” which leans into the album’s frequent seventh chords. Later, they take another breather with “Say Something,” a nearly acoustic entry that goes without drums. Elsewhere, “Upside Down” is still jangly but poppier, not as dense, and reliant on punchy downbeats, an approach that befits its jaunty melody. It’s a song that looks for solidarity in an uncertain world. While Beach Youth reside mainly in lush, enveloping, rhythm guitar atmospheres that complement their compassionate lyrics, the full spectrum of their sound makes Postcard a worthwhile destination for fans of any of their style inspirations. – Marcy Donelson


01. Beach Youth – Love Yourself I
02. Beach Youth – Love Yourself II
03. Beach Youth – Two Bedrooms
04. Beach Youth – Farewell
05. Beach Youth – A Changed Man
06. Beach Youth – Upside Down
07. Beach Youth – In My Chest
08. Beach Youth – Around Me
09. Beach Youth – Out Of Control
10. Beach Youth – Say Something
11. Beach Youth – Back Home