B.B. King – Live At The Regal (1965/2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

B.B. King – Live At The Regal (1965/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192kHz | Time – 35:06 minutes | 1,56 GB | Genre: Blues
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Geffen Records

Live at the Regal is a live recording of legendary blues guitarist and vocalist B.B. King. The album was recorded November 21, 1964 and is considered one of the greatest blues albums ever recorded; reaching #141 on Rolling Stone Magazine’s list of 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. Live at the Regal was selected by the Library of Congress in 2005 for permanent preservation in the National Recording Registry.

B.B. King is not only a timeless singer and guitarist, he’s also a natural-born entertainer, and on Live at the Regal the listener is treated to an exhibition of all three of his talents. Over percolating horn hits and rolling shuffles, King treats an enthusiastic audience (at some points, they shriek after he delivers each line) to a collection of some of his greatest hits. The backing band is razor-sharp, picking up the leader’s cues with almost telepathic accuracy. King’s voice is rarely in this fine of form, shifting effortlessly between his falsetto and his regular range, hitting the microphone hard for gritty emphasis and backing off in moments of almost intimate tenderness. Nowhere is this more evident than at the climax of “How Blue Can You Get,” where the Chicago venue threatens to explode at King’s prompting. Of course, the master’s guitar is all over this record, and his playing here is among the best in his long career. Displaying a jazz sensibility, King’s lines are sophisticated without losing their grit. More than anything else, Live at the Regal is a textbook example of how to set up a live performance. Talking to the crowd, setting up the tunes with a vignette, King is the consummate entertainer. Live at the Regal is an absolutely necessary acquisition for fans of B.B. King or blues music in general. A high point, perhaps even the high point, for uptown blues.

01 – Everyday I Have The Blues
02 – Sweet Little Angel
03 – It’s My Own Fault
04 – How Blue Can You Get?
05 – Please Love Me
06 – You Upset Me Baby
07 – Worry, Worry
08 – Woke Up This Mornin’
09 – You Done Lost Your Good Thing Now
10 – Help The Poor

Produced by Johnny Pate.
Mastering Engineer: Kevin Reeves @ 4th Floor Studios.

B.B. King – guitar, vocals
Leo Lauchie – bass
Duke Jethro – piano
Bobby Forte, Johnny Board – tenor saxophone
Sonny Freeman – drums