Avishai Cohen – 1970 (2017) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Avishai Cohen – 1970 (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 45:31 minutes | 501 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front cover | © Masterworks

His escapades towards soul, pop and folk music are not completely new. Except that with1970, Avishai Cohen jumps feet first with a whole album into… soul, pop and folk music! The Israeli bass player admittedly never forgets the jazz soul in his music; he simply pays homage here to sounds, textures and universes that he grew up with. A mostly sung journey (both in English and in Hebrew) that he undertakes with numerous guests such as Itamar Doari on percussion, Yael Shapira on cello, Elyasaf Bishari on oud, Tal Kohavi on drums, Yonatan Daskal on keyboards and Karen Malka at the microphone. As Avishai Cohen says it himself: “it’s not a jazz record. I don’t know what it is, but I’ve always had a connection to pop. I like pop as much as I like Bach and Charlie Parker. Singing has become very serious in my life over time. I’ve been asked by many people, when is the vocal album gonna come? Well, this is it, right here.

01. Song of Hope
02. My Lady
03. It’s Been so Long
04. Se’i Yona
05. Emptiness
06. For No One
07. Motherless Child
08. D’ror Yikra
09. Move on
10. Ha’ahava
11. Vamonos Pa’l Monte
12. Blinded

Avishai Cohen – double bass, electric bass, vocals
Itamar Doari – percussion, vocals
Karen Malka – vocals
Yael Shapira – cello, vocals
Elyasaf Bishari – oud, vocals
Jonatan Daskal – keyboard
Tal Kohavi – drums