Auvinen – Akkosaari (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Auvinen – Akkosaari (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 41:26 minutes | 425 MB | Genre: Electronic, Ambient
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Editions Mego

Johannes Auvinen is regarded among the best to ever wield a 303, but here commits his love for classic European synth music in a convincing style that holds up to comparison with inspirations ranging from Ash Ra Temple’s Jenseits to the iciest contours of the Sähkö label.

Rather than his usual all-night-long vibes, ‘Akkosaari’ is patently intended for the hours after the party has finished, and thus smartly finds its place in the seemingly endless post-party era of the early 2020’s. To give some measure of the meter he’s working with, it takes until halfway thru the album on ‘Kyläläiset Tanssii’ before any rhythmic structure appears, and even then it’s stark as fuck, in a Vainio-esque school of thought.

It’s arguably all best received in downtime states, when the contemplative effect of ‘Mummon Tarina’ will absorb listeners into a deep blue state of mind that’s beautifully sustained throughout the album’s haunted choral pads and chamber-like sense of slow, elegant purpose up to the ice-cavern ambience of ‘Akkosari’ at its furthest perimeter.

1. Mummon Tarina (03:05)
2. Syksyn Jäät Ääntelee (05:13)
3. Usvassa Eksyminen (05:14)
4. Kyläläiset Tanssii (05:42)
5. Susi (03:39)
6. Kevät Jäät Kilisevät (04:47)
7. Kelluminen (07:04)
8. Akkosaari (06:47)