Art Hodes – Selections From The Gutter (1973/2017) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Art Hodes – Selections From The Gutter (1973/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 37:56 minutes | 637 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Storyville Records

Arthur W. Hodes, known professionally as Art Hodes, was an American jazz pianist. Storyville Records presents “Selections from the Gutter”, a collection of eight original songs performed by pianist Art Hodes originally released in 1973.

At the age of 65, pianist Art Hodes was very much in his prime in the early 1970s. This release from Storyville features Hodes on slower blues-oriented material, including a memorable rendition of Hoagy Carmichael’s “Washboard Blues,” plus a couple of romps (such as “St. Louis Blues”) for variety. Five songs add the bass of Jens Solund, but otherwise, this is a solo set with a few particularly haunting moments.

01 – Selections from the Gutter
02 – Make Me a Pallet
03 – Blues Keep Calling
04 – Washboard Blues
05 – Organ Grinder Blues
06 – Jackass Blues
07 – Frankie & Johnny
08 – St Louis Blues

Produced by Emil Knudsen
Recorded: October 5, 1970 – October 10, 1970.