Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers – Ugetsu: Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers at Birdland (1963/2011) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers – Ugetsu: Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers at Birdland (1963/2011)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:03:43 minutes | 1,28 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital Booklet | @ Original Jazz Classics

One of the 60’s greatest live jazz recordings, Ugetsu documents a blistering 1963 live set by the legendary Jazz Messengers at Birdland. Blakey is joined by an allstar team of jazz legends: Wayne Shorter, Cedar Walton, Curtis Fuller, Freddie Hubbard, and Reggie Workman.

Ugetsu, a 1963 live set from the original Birdland, finds Art Blakey & His Jazz Messengers at the peak of their powers with one of their strongest lineups. The group primarily recorded sessions for Alfred Lion’s Blue Note label, but this Riverside date is as strong as any of their previous outings. Having acquired the services of trombonist Curtis Fuller in 1961, the Messengers’ front line was its most robust ever, with Wayne Shorter and Freddie Hubbard consistently turning in some of their best performances. Rounding out the rhythm section with Blakey are the equally powerful Reggie Workman and Cedar Walton. the Messengers’ set list finds the majority of tunes written by musical director Wayne Shorter, as well as a few choice numbers from Curtis Fuller and Cedar Walton’s title cut. The group is spurred on by a very receptive crowd, tempos and solos are spirited for the most part, and Blakey seems exceptionally energetic despite not performing a single extended solo himself. His between-song banter is equally entertaining. Overall, the group is precise, expressive, and swinging hard, delivering its message from the grandest platform of the time. -AllMusic Review by Rovi Staff

1 One By One 6:31
2 Ugetsu 11:25
3 Time Off 5:14
4 Ping-Pong 8:30
5 I Didn’t Know What Time It Was 6:28
6 On the Ginza 7:16
Bonus tracks
7 Eva 5:46
8 The High Priest 5:38
9 Conception (previously unreleased) 5:13
10 The Theme 1:42

Art Blakey, drums
Wayne Shorter, tenor sax
Cedar Walton, piano
Curtis Fuller, trombone
Freddie Hubbard, trumpet
Reggie Workman, double bass