Aretha Franklin – Aretha Arrives (1967/2012) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Aretha Franklin – Aretha Arrives (1967/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 36:12 minutes | 789 MB | Genre: R&B
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Rhino Atlantic

“Aretha Arrives” is Franklin’s chart-topping 1967 blockbuster hit. The eclectic collection features the standout tune “Baby, I Love You”, which would sell over a million copies worldwide and reached #1 on Billboard’s Top R&B singles. Aretha Arrives also includes earth-shattering renditions of classics including “Satisfaction”, “You Are My Sunshine” and “Night Life”. Franklin possesses a voice that defined generations and this definitive soul masterpiece showcases everything the multi-GRAMMY winner does best.

Recorded in 1967 after the first flush of back-to-back successes with “Respect” and “I Never Loved a Man,” this captures Aretha Franklin in peak form. Lady Soul provides her own piano accompaniment on the majority of tracks here, and the core band is the same one that provided the fire on her previous album. The tunes are an eclectic batch, and while “Baby, I Love You” was the hit of the album, Franklin turns in strong versions of “Satisfaction,” “You Are My Sunshine,” “Night Life,” “Ain’t Nobody (Gonna Turn Me Around),” and a quirky cover of “96 Tears” for good measure. An essential addition to her discography.

01 – Satisfaction
02 – You Are My Sunshine
03 – Never Let Me Go
04 – 96 Tears
05 – Prove It
06 – Night Life
07 – That’s Life
08 – I Wonder
09 – Ain’t Nobody (Gonna Turn Me Around)
10 – Going Down Slow
11 – Baby, I Love You