Antoine Tamestit – Widmann: Viola Concerto (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Antoine Tamestit – Widmann: Viola Concerto (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 01:00:15 minutes | 422 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © harmonia mundi

A fiery partnership. The brainchild of Antoine Tamestit, this recording stems from a long-standing collaboration with his recital partner, Jörg Widmann. Over the course of his new viola concerto, Widmann the composer lets his soloist move freely about the stage, producing fresh orchestral colours within a novel structure: combining humour with earnestness, ferocity with delicacy, Widmann’s unfailing sense of theatre serves to highlight the work’s haunting beauty. Whether embedded in the orchestral fabric or exploring the more intimate pieces on this programme, the violist comes out a hero, hands down!

Jörg Widmann (b.1973)
01. Viola Concerto: I. Pizzicato. Molto rubato-Più mosso
02. Viola Concerto: II. Sehr langsam-Calmo
03. Viola Concerto: III. Poco vivo subito
04. Viola Concerto: IV. Toccata, Presto
05. Viola Concerto: V. Aria. Molto Adagio
06. 24 Duets: No. 9. Calmo
07. 24 Duets: No. 14. Capriccio
08. 24 Duets: No. 15. Canto
09. 24 Duets: No. 16. Petit ballet mécanique (Pas de deux)
10. 24 Duets: No. 12. Kanon-Fragment
11. 24 Duets: No. 5. Frage
12. 24 Duets: No. 6. Scherzando (un poco sostenuto)
13. 24 Duets: No. 21. Valse bavaroise
14. 24 Duets: No. 22. Lamento
15. String Quartet No. 3 “Jagdquartett”

Antoine Tamestit, viola
Signum Quartett
Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Daniel Harding, conductor