Anna Wierer & Alina Pronina – Tchesnokov: Tales without Words, Music for Flute and Piano (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Anna Wierer & Alina Pronina – Tchesnokov: Tales without Words, Music for Flute and Piano (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 01:01:42 minutes | 504 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Brilliant Classics

This album features the complete works for flute (to date) by Franco-Ukranian composer Dimitri Tchesnokov (b.1982), with the exception of his flute trio Tableaux fe`ie`iriques. This programme is supplemented by some of Tchesnokov’s piano solos in a comparable style. The pieces presented here offer a contrast to the composer’s religious/mystical music (3 Chants sacre`is, Requiem, Ave Verum) and his historic/realistic works (Symphonie archaique, Chateau de Grandval, Symphonie Ukrainienne).

The 11 Ha”ikus are interspersed throughout the recital, maintaining a feeling of spontaneity and lightness, while the pieces alternating with the haikus create contrasting images and moods.

The influence of the Far East is present in several of the compositions, among them Rhapsodie Japonaise, based on traditional modes like Hirajoshi and Insen; Quelque part a`I Tsushima (Somewhere in Tsushima), evoking the sound of the koto; and La Fete du Dragon, conjuring the fireworks and cheerful colours of China with the pentatonic mode. From the composer’s Slavic roots comes Une Histoire vraiment bizarre (A truly bizarre story), a trip to a magical forest from old Russian fairy tales, where Little Red Riding Hood meets strange characters like the forest ghost, Leshy.

The absolute music of Tchesnokov’s Partita combines simple motifs with a special harmonic tripartition of the octave. The slow movements are the calm before the virtuoso fugue – a real challenge for a monodic instrument like the flute.

Dimitri Tchesnokov, French-Ukrainian composer and pianist of Russian origin, was born in 1982. He studied music at the Tourtchak School of Arts in Kyiv in the piano class of Svitlana Dembovska, then entered the Gli`ere Institute in the class of Elena Verikovskaya. Arrived in France at the age of 15, he continued to study piano with Adam Wibrowski. He obtained the diploma of musical studies at the conservatory of Boulogne-Billancourt in 2001 and perfected his skills with L’ivia R’ev and Setrak. After completing his orchestration studies in the class of Guillaume Connesson at the Aubervilliers – La Courneuve conservatory, he devoted himself entirely to composition. He is the author of several works for orchestra, numerous works for choir, a considerable number of chamber music works as well as about thirty works for piano.

This CD contains music for flute and piano, as well as works for piano solo. The “Eleven Haikus”, Rhapsodie Japonaise, “Tsushima”and La f^ete du Dragon, are inspired by the Orient, using traditional oriental modes and timbres. Other works are inspired by the rich Russian folklore and fairy tales.

Played by Anna Wierer (flute) and Alina Pronina (piano), passionate advocates of this highly attractive music by Dimitri Tchesnokov, a strong and original voice in contemporary music.

01. Tchesnokov: 11 Ha”iku, Op. 95: I. Ha”iku 1
02. Tchesnokov: Eth’eria in C Minor, Op. 24
03. Tchesnokov: Ha”iku 2
04. Tchesnokov: Melody, Op. 58
05. Tchesnokov: Ha”iku 3
06. Tchesnokov: Rhapsodie Japonaise, Op. 48: I. ‘Evocations
07. Tchesnokov: Rhapsodie Japonaise, Op. 48: II. Masques
08. Tchesnokov: Rhapsodie Japonaise, Op. 48: III. Danses
09. Tchesnokov: Ha”iku 4
10. Tchesnokov: Sonatine, Op. 7
11. Tchesnokov: Ha”iku 5
12. Tchesnokov: Quelque part `a Tsushima, Op. 99
13. Tchesnokov: Ha”iku 6
14. Tchesnokov: Sonatine, Op. 54: I. Souvenirs
15. Tchesnokov: Sonatine, Op. 54: II. Fantaisies
16. Tchesnokov: Sonatine, Op. 54: III. Jeux
17. Tchesnokov: Ha”iku 7
18. Tchesnokov: La f^ete du dragon, Op. 99
19. Tchesnokov: Ha”iku 8
20. Tchesnokov: Partita, Op. 90: I. Rondo
21. Tchesnokov: Partita, Op. 90: II. Cantilena
22. Tchesnokov: Partita, Op. 90: III. Adagio
23. Tchesnokov: Partita, Op. 90: IV. Scherzino
24. Tchesnokov: Partita, Op. 90: V. Romance
25. Tchesnokov: Fugue
26. Tchesnokov: Ha”iku 9
27. Tchesnokov: Une histoire vraiment bizarre, Op. 99
28. Tchesnokov: Ha”iku 10
29. Tchesnokov: L’egende mancelle, Op. 59
30. Tchesnokov: Ha”iku 11