Anita O’Day – Jazz ‘Round Midnight (Remastered) (1997/2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Anita O’Day – Jazz ‘Round Midnight (Remastered) (1997/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 55:17 minutes | 451 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RevOla

In keeping with the Jazz ‘Round Midnight theme, this Anita O’Day sampler errs on the mellow side of things with 16 after-hours gems from the lady of bop vocal rhythm. For fans more interested in sampling all of O’Day’s talents, though, there’s such well-balanced Verve collection as Jazz Masters and Compact Jazz to check out. But, if your optimal inroad to jazz vocals is a smooth one, this disc – with ballad highlights like “Man With a Horn,” “I’m Not Lonely,” and “Early Autumn” – will make for ideal listening. And while O’Day is not the first word in jazz ballads (think June Christy or Ella Fitzgerald), her beguiling delivery – along with the disc’s wealth of top-notch charts and amazing cast of sidemen – makes up for any lack of rarefied mood moments. Packed with gems from the singer’s ’50s and early-’60s prime, Jazz ‘Round Midnight: Anita O’Day will make the familiarizing process as easy as sipping a glass of French red.

1 Angel Eyes (Remastered)
2 A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square (Remastered)
3 We’ll Be Together Again (Remastered)
4 I Cover the Waterfront (Remastered)
5 If the Moon Turns Green (Remastered)
6 Early Autumn (Remastered)
7 I’m Not Lonely (Remastered)
8 A Lover Is Blue (Remastered)
9 Tenderly (Remastered)
10 I’m Not Supposed to Be Blue Blues (Remastered)
11 You Came a Long Way from St. Louis (Remastered)
12 Trav’lin’ Light (Remastered)
13 Man with a Horn (Remastered)
14 I Can’t Get Started (Remastered)
15 You Don’t Know What Love Is (Remastered)
16 Crazy, He Calls Me! (Remastered)