Alistair McGowan – The Piano Album (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Alistair McGowan – The Piano Album (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 52:29 minutes | 860 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Sony Music CG

Best known for his BAFTA-winning comedy show, ‘Alistair McGowan’s Big Impression’, in which he delighted audiences nationwide with pinpoint-accurate impersonations of celebrities such as David Beckham, Gary Lineker and Jonathan Ross, Alistair McGowan is now preparing for his most demanding role of all – that of pianist – as he releases an album of solo piano works for Sony Classical.

This debut album features McGowan performing several short classical pieces, all chosen and learned by the actor/impressionist (who could only ever play two pieces) but who then practised for up to six hours a day over a nine-month period in his attempt to finally conquer this beautiful instrument, despite already being in his early 50s.

„By taking on the idea of making an album, I hope to encourage people of any age to play the piano, but perhaps particularly those at an age where it’s easy to think that it’s all too late.“ (Alistair McGowan)

McGowan had started out playing the piano as a boy, but gave it up after only two years in favour of tennis and football. He went on to train as an actor at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama and worked for many years on television, on radio and in the theatre (being nominated for an Olivier Award in 2006), as well as successfully performing around the country for almost thirty years as a stand-up comic.

Having always yearned for the piano, in 2016, McGowan devised the one-man stage show, ‘Erik Satie’s-faction’, based on the French composer’s comedic writings, letters and music, for which he had to learn to play some short piano pieces by Satie and Debussy as an integral part of the show – the first time he had ever played in public. Emboldened by this well-received first public experience, it was not long before he was enthusiastically identifying and learning other short pieces which he felt that he – and others with similarly limited playing experience ­- could realistically manage.

„I have become so passionate about the piano over the past three years. It has really taken me over and I have made the time to practise (time I never thought I had) with a few simple lifestyle changes. This album contains a wealth of beautiful music that I think anyone can tackle, given time, passion and determination. Learning to play the piano has been an incredible challenge – often frustrating – but, ultimately, hugely enjoyable and emotional. It’s so satisfying when you realise that you are improving daily. I hope this encourages everyone who harbours a secret ambition take up music – it really is never too late!“ (Alistair McGowan)


01. Gnossienne No. 1
02. Lyric Pieces, Op. 12: No. 1, Arietta
03. Prelude in C Major, BWV 846
04. 24 Preludes, Op. 28: Prelude No. 20 in C Minor
05. Impresiones Intimas: No. 2
06. Gymnopédie No. 1
07. Nocturne No. 2 in C Minor, H.25
08. 24 Preludes, Op. 28: Prelude No. 4 in E Minor
09. Album for the Young, Op. 68: Mignon
10. Gnossienne No. 2
11. Poem
12. Impresiones Intimas: No. 8, Secreto
13. Nocturne No. 5 in B-Flat Major, H.37
14. Consolation No. 3 in D-Flat Major, S. 172
15. Gnossienne No. 3
16. 10 Miniatures en forme d’Etudes Op. 8: Miniature No. 2 in D Minor
17. Metamorphosis: Metamorphosis Five
18. Gymnopédie No. 1 (Reprise)

Alistair McGowan, piano