Alexey Pudinov – Neue Bahnen (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Alexey Pudinov – Neue Bahnen (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:14:25 minutes | 586 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front cover | © Kaleidos Musikeditionen

“On his debut solo album the Russian pianist Alexey Pudinov (*1988) plays a very diverse program, which can only escape the impression of a hodgepodge if the interpretations are continuously exciting. In the interpretation of the second Brahms sonata Pudinov shows immediately the outstanding level of his performing. His highly musical and very spontaneous performance is never dominated by sound masses, but remains clear and transparent even in massive passages, even somehow light and flexible. Colors, rubato and an often astounding dynamic characterize this Second Sonata. The dynamic intemperance is not a challenge for Pudinov (in this he reminds me of Ugorski), but a terrain where he feels really comfortable, where he can show how pianistic this sonata is, masculine and yet also highly sensitive. The change to Chopin and his Fourth Ballade seems natural and not forced. Pudinov’s fine gradations, his suggestive rubato and his reflective playing help him telling the story that Chopin wrote down musically. The Andante and the Adagio of Rachmaninov Moments Musicaux Op. 16 are very introverted. But even in the Presto effects and virtuosic magic are avoided; in contrast, an overall transparency is emphasized. Pudinov plays each of the three pieces very profoundly and narratively, making each Moment Musical a little story. A very good interpretation of Fazil Say’s Gershwin Variations leads to Impressions on Rothko by composer Dennis Tjiock, born in 1994. This piece was inspired by Mark Rothko, an American Abstract Expressionist painter and pioneer of color field painting. The three minimalist movements are played by Pudinov with great feeling and expression, making them lastingly effective. Pudinov ends his program more than impressively with Bach’s Prelude BWV 855A in Siloti’s transcription. He emphasizes the bass line with astonishing expressive power, underlining the contrast with the ornamented melodic line, which thus becomes all the more expressive. Emil Gilels concluded his legendary Seattle Recital (DG) with this piece. The comparison shows that Pudinov is very superior to his compatriot in this work. Together with the rest of the expressions from this wonderful piano disc, this interpretation makes me say that 32-year-old Alexey Pudinov is one of the most interesting young pianists I have heard in recent years.” (Remy Franck,


1. Alexey Pudinov – I. Allegro non troppo ma energico
2. Alexey Pudinov – II. Andante con espressione
3. Alexey Pudinov – III. Scherzo. Allegro – Trio. Poco più moderato
4. Alexey Pudinov – IV. Finale. Sostenuto – Allegro non troppo e rubato
5. Alexey Pudinov – Ballade No. 4 in F Minor, Op. 52, B. 146
6. Alexey Pudinov – No. 3 in B Minor
7. Alexey Pudinov – No. 4 in E Minor
8. Alexey Pudinov – No. 5 in D-Flat Major
9. Alexey Pudinov – Summertime Variations (After Gershwin)
10. Alexey Pudinov – No. 1, Magic
11. Alexey Pudinov – No. 2, Blue and Grey
12. Alexey Pudinov – No. 3, Www
13. Alexey Pudinov – Prelude & Fugue in B Minor, BWV 855a (Arr. A. Siloti)