Alex Sipiagin – Upstream (2021) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Alex Sipiagin – Upstream (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 54:50 minutes | 1,05 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Posi-Tone Records

Trumpeter Alex Sipiagin has grown tremendously in recent years – and a record like this is a fantastic demonstration of his talents as both an instrumentals and as a composer – and also as a leader of a very well-matched group! The combo is a quartet, but soar out with a spirit that makes you feel like you’re hearing the energy of a much larger ensemble – a quality that maybe comes in part from the work of pianist Art Hirihara, who always seems to have this grand sense of flow – driven on strongly here by the bass of Boris Kozlov and drums of Rudy Royston! Sipiagin is majestic throughout – able to fly to the heavens at some points, but then be very down to earth and personal at others – on titles that include “Sight”, “Call”, “Rain”, “Shura”, “Echo Canyon”, “Upstream”, and “Magic Square”.


1. Alex Sipiagin – Call
2. Alex Sipiagin – Echo Canyon
3. Alex Sipiagin – Sight
4. Alex Sipiagin – SipaTham
5. Alex Sipiagin – Magic Square
6. Alex Sipiagin – Rain
7. Alex Sipiagin – Shura
8. Alex Sipiagin – Miyako
9. Alex Sipiagin – Upstream