Aksel Rykkvin, Mark Bennett & The MIN Ensemble – Light Divine (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Aksel Rykkvin, Mark Bennett & The MIN Ensemble – Light Divine (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:03:47 minutes | 1,15 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Signum Records

The prodigious Norwegian treble Aksel Rykkvin returns to disc on Signum with a new disc of Baroque works, accompanying the MIN Ensemble under conductor and trumpeter Mark Bennett and their artistic director Lazar Miletic.

Featuring both instrumental pieces and excerpts from operas and other works by Handel, Rameau, Albinoni and Rittler, this disc further documents Aksel’s unique talent as a performer.

Praise for Aksel’s previous release (Aksel! SIGCD435) and performances: “A mature, musical performer […] an accomplished and adult disc” Gramophone “A remarkable performance – pure,confident, technically perfect and hauntingly beautiful” Classic FM

“Freakishly good, with a musical assurance and richness of tone that are almost superhuman” Financial Times

“A superb debut … Exceptionally polished performances” BBC Music Magazine

01. Concerto in F, HWV 331 (arr. Mark Bennett)
02. Ode for the Birthday of Queen Anne, HWV 74: Eternal Source of Light Divine
03. Trio Sonata for 2 Violins and Continuo in G, Op. 5, No. 5, HWV 399 : III. Passacaille (arr. Mark Bennett)
04. Ode for St. Cecilia’s Day, HWV 76: V. “What Passion Cannot Music Raise”
05. Alla caccia (Diane cacciatrice), HWV 79: La Marche – Recitative “Alla caccia, alla caccia” – Aria “Foriera la tromba” (arr. Mark Bennett)
06. La Statira, T.201: Vien con nuova Orribil guerra
07. Ciaccona à 7
08. Hippolyte et Aricie, RCT 43, Act III Scene 1: Ritournelle (arr. Aareskjold & Bennett)
09. Les Boréades, RCT 31, Act IV Scene 4: Entrée d’Abaris
10. Castor et Pollux, RCT 32, Act II Scene 2: “Tristes apprêts” (arr. Aareskjold & Bennett)
11. Zorastre, RCT 62, Act IV Scene 5: Ballet figure, Air (arr. Mark Bennett)
12. Platée, RCT 53 Act I, Scene 6: Orage (arr. Aareskjold & Bennett)
13. Nais, RCT 49, Act II, Scene 6: “Je ne sais quel ennui me presse” (arr. Stian Aareskjold)
14. Les Indes Galantes, RCT 44, Act IV Scene 6: Chaconne (arr. Mark Bennett)

Albinoni, Tomaso (1671-1751)
Handel, George Frideric (1685-1759)
Rameau, Jean Philippe (1683-1764)

Aksel Rykkvin (treble)
MIN Ensemble
Mark Bennett (conductor)
Lazar Miletic (artistic director)