Aki Rissanen – Amorandom (2016) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Aki Rissanen – Amorandom (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 50:05 minutes | 274 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Edition Records

Over the last few years Aki has quietly been building a name in the international jazz world both as a leader and as a sideman. With Amorandom, he delivers his most authoritative work to date. There’s a fluidity in his playing and a boldness in his composing that deserves widespread praise and real recognition for one of the finest young European pianists. Described by Downbeat as a ‘rising star around Europe, Amorandom is the work that will introduce Aki Rissanen’s startling new talent to a global audience.

This music takes on a visual identity and is influenced by static minimal music, Western classical impressionism and Nordic lyricism. As Aki explains: ‘The music on this album is based on an animation movie, to which I composed a soundtrack a few years ago, directed by Tuula Leinonen and animated by the “grand old man” of the Finnish scene, Antti Peränne… Although the original music has gone through many stages of transformation, you can still hear a cinematic flavor in it’.

Rissanen maybe best known for his work with the Verneri Pohjola Quartet on Edition Records and ACT Music as well as with Dave Liebman on Ozella Music in Germany, yet he has made this album entirely his own. The quiet humility; the comradeship between long standing partners and friends; the classicism; a lyrical melancholy and distinctive rhythmical drive and finesse in his playing develop into a coherent statement. Amorandom is set to make Aki Rissanen the new European pianist everyone is talking about in 2016.

01. Pulsar
02. For Rainbows
03. Paysages Pas Sages
04. Aleatoric
05. Signettes
06. For Jimmy Giuffre
07. Eye-Opener
08. Bird Vision
09. Amorandom

Aki Rissanen – piano
Antti, Lötfönen – bass
Teppo Mäkinen – drums