Abbey Lincoln – That’s Him! (1957/2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Abbey Lincoln – That’s Him! (1957/2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 52:25 minutes | 521 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RevOla

“That’s Him!” is the second album by American jazz vocalist Abbey Lincoln featuring tracks recorded in 1957 for the Riverside label. Allmusic awarded the album 4 stars stating “even this early, she was already a major jazz singer with a style of her own”.

Singer Abbey Lincoln’s second recording, and her first for Riverside, finds her accompanied by quite an all-star roster: tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins, trumpeter Kenny Dorham, pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Paul Chambers, and drummer Max Roach. Even this early, she was already a major jazz singer with a style of her own. Lincoln was careful from this point on to only interpret lyrics that she believed in. Her repertoire has a few superior standards (including several songs such as “I Must Have That Man!” and “Don’t Explain” that are closely associated with Billie Holiday) plus Oscar Brown, Jr.’s “Strong Man” and Phil Moore’s “Tender as a Rose”; she takes the latter unaccompanied. “Don’t Explain” is slightly unusual in that Paul Chambers is absent and Wynton Kelly makes an extremely rare appearance on bass. All three of Abbey Lincoln’s Riverside albums are well worth the listen. (Some reissues add alternate takes of “I Must Have That Man!” and “Porgy” to the original program.)


01 – Strong Man
02 – Happiness Is Just a Thing Called Joe
03 – My Man
04 – Tender as a Rose
05 – That’s Him
06 – I Must Have That Man
07 – Porgy
08 – When a Woman Loves a Man
09 – Can’t Help Lovin’ Dat Man
10 – Don’t Explain
11 – I Must Have That Man (take 3)
12 – Porgy (take 1)

Produced by Bill Grauer and Orrin Keepnews.
Recorded on October 28, 1957 at Reeves Sound Studios in New York City.

Abbey Lincoln – vocals
Kenny Dorham – trumpet
Sonny Rollins – tenor saxophone
Wynton Kelly – piano (except “10”); bass (“on 10”)
Paul Chambers – bass (except “10”)
Max Roach – drums