ZAYN – Mind Of Mine (2016) {Deluxe Edition} [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

ZAYN – Mind Of Mine (2016) {Deluxe Edition}
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 59:35 minutes | 707 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: WEB | Front Cover | © RCA Records Label

Mind of Mine is the debut studio album by English singer and songwriter Zayn Malik, released on 25 March 2016, by RCA Records under his mononymous stage name, Zayn. He cites to establish his solo career in music, following his departure from boy band One Direction. Primarily R&B and alternative R&B, the album blends elements from a number of genres, including pop, folk, dub, soul, funk, electronic, Qawwali, hip hop, reggae, classical and soft rock, among others. The album was preceded by the release of three singles: “Pillowtalk” (which debuted at number one in a number of international charts, including the UK Singles Chart and the US Billboard Hot 100), “Like I Would” and “Wrong”, featuring Kehlani.

Mind of Mine has received generally positive reviews from music critics, with praise directed towards Malik’s new musical direction and his vocal performance. Mind of Mine debuted at number one in the United Kingdom, United States, Argentina, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Sweden and Taiwan, with Zayn becoming the first UK male artist to debut at number one in both the UK and US with his debut album. Mind Of Mine is also the highest charting album of 2016.

After Zayn Malik left One Direction to strike out on his own, he didn’t rush out a record to take advantage of his fame; he took his time getting his sound together. His first solo record, Mind of Mine, was carefully crafted over a long period with the invaluable help of Frank Ocean collaborator Malay and goes for a much more adult, modern R&B feel than anything he’d done with One D. Most of the album revolves around sex, drugs, and sex while doing drugs — pretty typical pursuits for a wealthy guy in his early twenties, especially one feeling his freedom for the first time. The sound of the album is rich and layered with synths, rubbery basslines, and occasional electric guitars, not too far from the sound of Miguel or the Weeknd. Like them, he digs deeply into slow, sensual ballads and basically buries himself there like it was a big, fluffy blanket perfect for a midnight rendezvous. Songs like “dRuNk” and “SHe” hit the sweet spot between romantic and debauched; others like “PILLOWTALK” tip toward the latter. While most of the album sticks close to lights-low, make-out territory, there are a few outliers, like the tender piano ballad “fOol fOr YoU,” which comes closest to the wholesome boy band sound he was so desperate to break free of. It’s a pretty good version of that sound, though. A couple tracks break free of the ballad haze and bump the energy level up a little: “BeFoUr” is a nice midtempo disco-influenced track that sounds like something Justin Timberlake might have done at one point; “lUcOzAdE” is a gently bouncing track with an on-point synth game.

While the songs are mostly strong and it all sounds very slick and state of the art, the highlight is Zayn’s voice. After Harry’s hair, his vocals were arguably the best thing about his former band and it’s a treat to hear him on his own, with nobody else hogging the spotlight. His soaring falsetto on “iT’s YoU” is breathtaking, the insistent approach of the more intense songs like “PILLOWTALK” is a welcome development, and the brief snippet of him singing beautifully in Urdu on “INTERMISSION: fLoWer” is a lovely nod to his background. His vocal skills help pave over the (rare) moments when the lyrics seem a bit juvenile or the sound feels a little too familiar, and help make Mind of Mine an impressive debut. It’s music he couldn’t have made with One Direction and while it may not be breaking any new ground, it’s new for him and he’s talented enough to make that interesting for anyone who likes well-made pop music. ~~ AllMusic Review by Tim Sendra


1. MiNd Of MiNdd (Intro) (00:57)
02. PILLOWTALK (03:22)
03. iT’s YoU (03:46)
04. BeFoUr (03:28)
05. sHe (03:09)
06. dRuNk (03:25)
07. INTERMISSION: fLoWer (01:44)
08. rEaR vIeW (03:21)
09. wRoNg (03:32)
10. fOoL fOr YoU (03:22)
11. BoRdErSz (03:59)
12. tRuTh (04:05)
13. lUcOzAdE (04:12)
14. TiO (02:58)
15. BLUE (03:44)
16. BRIGHT (02:56)
17. LIKE I WOULD (03:12)
18. SHE DON’T LOVE ME (04:15)