Yusuke Shima – Jazz Songs, Vol. 2 (2019) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Yusuke Shima – Jazz Songs, Vol. 2 (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 01:11:57 minutes | 663 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © TODOROKI JAZZ RECORDS

Even if between the music domains in which shamisen (instrument of Japanese music tradition similar to a three stringed long and slim-necked guitar, usually plucked by a plectrum called bachi) and the trumpet there is a great distance, Oyama and Shima are able to reduce and overlap such cultural discrepancies allowing an intriguing and dynamic music dialogue between instruments whose sound peculiarities here intertwine to create an unusual commixture. Moreover, it’s to be underlined the fact that Oyama plays his instrument in a style, named tsugaru shamisen, that contemplates a major improvisational component, making it particularly amenable to such a project.

1. Yusuke Shima – Over the Rainbow
2. Yusuke Shima – Fly Me to the Moon
3. Yusuke Shima – How Insensitive
4. Yusuke Shima – Moon River
5. Yusuke Shima – My Little Suade Shoes
6. Yusuke Shima – Candy
7. Yusuke Shima – Club R
8. Yusuke Shima – Lawns
9. Yusuke Shima – The Girl from Ipanema
10. Yusuke Shima – Plein soleil
11. Yusuke Shima – Heal the World
12. Yusuke Shima – Look Down on the Sea from the Top
13. Yusuke Shima – Spartacus
14. Yusuke Shima – Softly, as in a Morning Sunrise
15. Yusuke Shima – Summertime
16. Yusuke Shima – Take The A Train: Take the “A” Train
17. Yusuke Shima – Happy Birthday to You (Live)
18. Yusuke Shima – Misty