Yellow Magic Orchestra – Technodelic (1981) (2019 Bob Ludwig Remastering) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Yellow Magic Orchestra – Technodelic (1981) (2019 Bob Ludwig Remastering)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 43:28 minutes | 918 MB | Genre: Electronic
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Sony Music Direct

Digitally remastered edition of this album by the Japanese electronic pop band. 1981 was a groundbreaking year for the music industry. By releasing BGM and Technodelic in one year, YMO made a shift happen in pop music. YMO introduced a new way of using samples and loops by cutting soundbites into fragments and reprogramming them with newly available computer technology. Technodelic is far more experimental then previous albums, and at the same time this fifth album is more minimalistic and full of funk and soul. Having released this much loved album, YMO remain remarkable and insanely great at inventing new ways of looking at compositions and creating a whole new music scene at the same time. Food for thought: if Technodelic wasn’t this great, what would the dance music scene sound like today?

“Widening their vision of synth-pop to include the darker strains of urban/R&B as well as a few vocals indebted to Roxy Music, 1981’s Technodelic proved a high-quality album that showed Yellow Magic Orchestra had the talent and inspiration to grow beyond Kraftwerk-derived electronic pop heavy on the novelty but a bit light on bending genres. Though they aren’t exactly melancholy, “Neue Tanz” and “Pure Jam” distinguish themselves through a clever use of synth and effects rather than through the simplistic melodies of previous work. There are some acknowledgements to acoustic music (such as the piano on “Stairs”), but for the most part YMO pursues a new direction with the same synthesizers they’d been using previously.” (John Bush, AMG)

1 Pure Jam (2019 Bob Ludwig Remastering) 04:30
2 Neue Tanz (2019 Bob Ludwig Remastering) 04:58
3 Stairs (2019 Bob Ludwig Remastering) 04:14
4 Seoul Music (2019 Bob Ludwig Remastering) 04:45
5 Light in Darkness (2019 Bob Ludwig Remastering) 03:40
6 Taiso (2019 Bob Ludwig Remastering) 04:21
7 Gradated Grey (2019 Bob Ludwig Remastering) 05:33
8 Key (2019 Bob Ludwig Remastering) 04:35
9 Prologue (2019 Bob Ludwig Remastering) 02:31
10 Epilogue (2019 Bob Ludwig Remastering) 04:21

Digitally remastered