XVIII-21 Le Baroque Nomade – D’or et de lumiere (Music for Celebrations) (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

XVIII-21 Le Baroque Nomade – D’or et de lumiere (Music for Celebrations) (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 01:08:29 minutes | 671 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Evidence

In the 15th century, when the catholic Kings banished the Jews from Spain, “ladino” meant… crafty ! Because only the foxiest (« like the devil … ») spoke that language ! It lived on until nowadays in the Jewish communities, which were built up after that disaster, in Istanbul, Thessaloniki and in Tangier or Tetouan, Morocco. Ladino or Judaeo-Spanish, crossed the Mediterranean sea and took away with it marvelous melodies that sing the bright love, the exile or tell the story of Jewish people.

At the same time, other communities used the Hebrew language for their festive music. Thus the cantatas by Casale Monferrato are a curious adaptation of the Italian baroque style to Moses’ language. Lastly, the fascinating character of Benedetto Marcello teaches us a lot about Synagogal music in Venice.

That program goes thus through Mediterranean Jewish melodies, with their profound rhythms, their poignant melisma, and their emotive poetry mixing, as ever in that culture, self-deprecating, laughs and tears.


Rosh Hashana
1 Avinu Malkenu 04:33

Hoshaana Raba (Sukkot, dernier Jour)
2 Dio, Clemenza e Rigore: I. Allegro 02:40
3 Dio, Clemenza e Rigore: II. Andante e piano 04:44
4 Dio, Clemenza e Rigore: III. Recitativo (La Clemenza) 01:12
5 Dio, Clemenza e Rigore: IV. Aria Allegro (La Clemenza) 08:14
Cambridge Consort Books, C. 1595
6 The Jewes Dance 02:43
7 Yo menamori 04:01

8 Intonazione degli Ebrei Tedeschi (Maoz Tsur) 01:05
9 Ocho Kandelikas 04:17
10 Pesrev neveser 02:44
11 Para que quero mas vivir 02:56

12 Allegro (Casale Monferrato) 02:29
13 Recitativo et Aria (Ester) 07:31
14 Coplas de Purim 02:41
15 La Rosa Enflorece 02:48
16 Cuando el Rey Nimrod 04:16

Pessa h
17 Sonata a 3 03:04
18 Had Gadia 06:31

XVIII-21 Le Baroque Nomade
Cyrille Gerstenhaber, soprano, viola de gamba, castanets, crotales
Jean-Christophe Frisch, conductor