Wolfgang Haffner – Kind of Spain (2017) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Wolfgang Haffner – Kind of Spain (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 48:33 minutes | 540 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © ACT Music

The title irrevocably sets the tone: in Kind Of Spain Wolfgang Haffner turns his attention to the Iberian Peninsula. Surrounded by pianist Jan Lundgren, trumpet player Sebastian Studnitzky, guitarist Daniel Stelter, the vibraphonist Christopher Dell and bass player Lars Danielsson the Bavarian drummer combines jazz and traditional Spanish music with exquisite intelligence and taste, producing mostly original compositions, but also reinterpreting Rodrigo and his legendary Concierto de Aranjuez. Following a delightful parenthesis exploring 50s cool jazz in Kind Of Cool, released in 2015, Haffner opted for an entirely acoustic ensemble, whose improvisations never run wild and perfectly match the refinement of such an approach. A wonderful album that will beautifully complement an already rich discography.

1. For Vince & Arif 01:14
2. Pasodoble 04:21
3. El Faro 04:24
4. Children of Sanchez 04:00
5. Tres Notas para Decir Te Quiero 04:27
6. El Vito 04:19
7. El Chaos 04:44
8. Concierto de Aranjuez 04:00
9. Tapies 01:11
10. Salinas 03:51
11. Recuerdos de la Alhambra 05:12
12. Spain 02:42
13. Capricho Arabe 04:08

Wolfgang Haffner, drums
Jan Lundgren, piano
Sebastian Studnitzky, trumpet
Daniel Stelter, guitar
Christopher Dell, vibraphone
Lars Danielsson, bass

Recorded by Arne Schumann at Hansa Studios Berlin, January 21 & 22, 2017
Mixed by Arne Schumann@Schumann&Bach
Mastered by Peter Heider at Purecuts
Produced by Lars Danielsson with Wolfgang Haffner