Walter Wolfman Washington – My Future Is My Past (2018) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Walter Wolfman Washington – My Future Is My Past (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz  | Time – 48:48 minutes | 900 MB | Genre: Blues
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Anti – Epitaph

Walter “Wolfman” Washington’s 2018 album My Future Is My Past begins with the sound of ice clinking in a glass and the singer taking a swallow, quietly murmuring “That’s gonna work.” It’s a fitting opener for this set; if ever there was a blues equivalent to the albums Frank Sinatra cut of what he called “saloon songs,” this is it. My Future Is My Past is a bit different than what folks might expect from Washington; while he has a richly deserved reputation as a gifted guitarist and a soulful vocalist, this set is blues not for the joyous heart of Saturday night but for 3 a.m., after the juke joint is closed and you’re left with a last sip of bourbon and someone on your mind. My Future Is My Past is thoughtful and low-key, a set of songs about love both good and bad, and while Washington plays guitar on these sessions, the focus is on his vocals, with the instrumental accompaniment from a team of top New Orleans talent offering subtle, unobtrusive support. (Kudos to Ben Ellman of Galactic, whose production flatters the headliner while giving him enough room to work his magic.) Washington’s voice is a bit on the rough side here (doubtless due to the fact he was 74 when this album was released), but his phrasing is smart and silky-smooth, informed by jazz and classic soul as much as New Orleans blues, and he can evoke longing and heartache with the panache of a veteran actor. And bringing in the great Irma Thomas to duet with Washington on “Even Now” was truly inspired casting. My Future Is My Past is not an album that will get the party started, but if it’s a rainy night and you want to hear the sound of a man skillfully baring his soul, then this is just what you need.

01. Lost Mind
02. Even Now
03. What A Diff’rence A Day Makes
04. Save Your Love For Me
05. I Don’t Want To Be A Lone Ranger
06. Steal Away
07. She’s Everything To Me
08. I Cried My Last Tear
09. I Just Dropped By To Say Hello
10. Are You The Lady