Voces8 – Lux (2015) [ProStudioMasters 24bit/96kHz]

Voces8 – Lux (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 71:42 minutes | 1,35 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Source: | Artwork: Digital booklet

This luminous collection from British vocal ensemble Voces8 spans over 400 years of music, from Thomas Tallis and Gregorio Allegri to Massive Attack and Ben Folds Five (The Luckiest, which appeared in the Richard Curtis film About Time). Also Includes popular classics such as Allegri’s Miserere and Elgar’s Nimrod.

Moving from the Signum label to the major Decca, the British choir Voces8, indeed an octet, breaks into new territory with its debut release for the Lux label. The album, with its vaguely positive theme and its mix of Renaissance, contemporary British and American, and pop selections, is aimed squarely at Britain’s substantial crossover market. But it departs from earlier easy-on-the-ears collections in several ways, and it’s worth the time of anyone who likes virtuoso choral singing. Voces8 not only takes on the difficult octet vocal blend, they spice things up by using a pair of countertenors on the alto parts (this Lux shares with the group’s earlier recordings). The shimmering effects that result are quite impressively controlled and even more significantly beautifully engineered in a pair of locations. Choirs have sung arrangements of the likes of Massive Attack and Ben Folds before, but it’s not often that choral singing of this quality has been applied to them. The whole thing is so beautiful that the pieces of music do run the risk of seeming to run together, and an hour of pleasant aural surroundings may be what’s on the mind of many buyers. But this release offers something a step above the basics.


01 – Ubi Caritas
02 – O Nata Lux
03 – Lux Aeterna
04 – Teardrop
05 – Mother Of God, Here I Stand
06 – Miserere Mei
07 – Stars
08 – Ave Maria 1
09 – Prayer To A Guardian Angel (with Matthew Sharp)
10 – Bogoroditse Devo
11 – O Nata Lux (with Christian Forshaw)
12 – The Luckiest
13 – Corde Natus Ex Parentis (with Christian Forshaw)
14 – My Lord Has Come
15 – Ubi Caritas
16 – In Paradisum (with Christian Forshaw)
17 – Prayer To A Guardian Angel
18 – Libera Nos 1 (with Christian Forshaw)
19 – Libera Nos 2 (with Christian Forshaw)

Produced by Adrian Peacock and Alexander Van Ingen. Recording and Mixing Engineer: David Hinitt.
Recorded May 15 & 16, and July 7 & 8, 2014 at Dore Abbey in Herefordshire, England as well as May 27, 2014 at St Michael’s Church in Highgate, London.

Barnaby Smith – countertenor and artistic director
Christopher Wardle – countertenor
Andrea Haines – soprano
Emily Dickens – soprano
Oliver Vincent – tenor
Samuel Dressel – tenor
Paul Smith – baritone
Dingle Yandell – bass

Christian Forshaw – saxophone
Matthew Sharp – cello



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *