Vardapet Komitas, Aram Khachaturian – Letters From Armenia – Varduhi Yeritsyan & Friends (2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Vardapet Komitas, Aram Khachaturian – Letters From Armenia – Varduhi Yeritsyan & Friends (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:04:31 minutes | 1,11 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Paraty Productions
Recorded: March 2015 at Théâtre Impérial de Compiègne

“A composer’s mother tongue is the first music he hears; it therefore determines the “genetic inheritance” of the musician’s sound world. The founding father of Armenian art music was Komitas Vardapet. This recording is released in the centenary year of the 1915 genocide. The pieces in this recital may be animated, contemplative, tender, or solemn, but they are very rarely gloomy or woeful. A sort of trust in the future characterises the “Armenian spirit”. Music is synonymous with hope, it is a way of fighting against annihilation, a tool of resistance. As I contemplate my ancestors who vanished a century ago, I would like this recording to bear witness to the faith in justice that has never fled my native land.” –Varduhi Yeritsyan

Vardapet Komitas
1. Toccata 3:18
Aram Khachaturian
“Gayaneh” (Excerpt)
2. Noune’s Variations 1:34
3. Aishe’s Dance 3:05
4. Ouzun – Dara 2:34
Vardapet Komitas
Traditional Armenian Songs
5. Hov areq sarer jan 3:16
6. Tzirani tzar 3:16
Aram Khachaturian
7. Poem for Piano 6:34
Vardapet Komitas
Rustic Songs for Voice and Piano
8. I. Shogher jan 2:37
9. II. Qeler – Tsoler 2:48
10. III. Yerkinqn ampele 1:38
11. IV. Kaqavik 1:06
Aram Khachaturian
12. Dance in B-Flat Major for Violin and Piano 4:47
Vardapet Komitas
13. Three Traditional Armenian Songs for Piano 1:52
14. Four Traditional Armenian Dances for Piano 6:48
Aram Khachaturian
Trio for clarinet, violin and piano
15. I. Andante con dolore 3:57
16. II. Allegro 4:08
17. III. moderato 6:50
18. IV. -/- 4:23

Varduhi Yeritsyan, piano
Lussine Levoni, soprano
Liana Gourdjia, violin
Mariam Adam, clarinet
Araik Bartidikian, duduk