Van Morrison – A Sense of Wonder (Remastered) (1985/2020) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Van Morrison – A Sense of Wonder (Remastered) (1985/2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 53:31 minutes | 1,13 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Legacy Recordings

A Sense of Wonder is the fifteenth studio album by Northern Irish singer-songwriter Van Morrison released in 1985. On first release, original pressings had to be recalled when the W. B. Yeats estate refused to allow Morrison’s musical version of the poem “Crazy Jane on God” to be included, as they believed his poems should only be set to classical music. Morrison substituted “If You Only Knew” for the Yeats’ recording. (Later, perhaps due to Morrison’s efforts, Yeats poems would be put to rock settings on a whole album).

“Van Morrison’s U.S. label debut with Polygram (which had issued his Live at the Grand Opera House Belfast album in England earlier) is a strong effort, mixing some of his familiar influences – R&B, poetry, mysticism – on such characteristic tracks as “Tore Down a la Rimbaud.” It might be fair to say that, by now, Morrison’s fans had heard what he had to say and the rest was just repetition, but he continued to write and perform at a high level at this mature stage in his career.” (William Ruhlmann, AMG)

1. Tore Down a la Rimbaud (4:12)
2. Ancient of Days (3:41)
3. Evening Meditation (4:15)
4. The Master’s Eyes (4:04)
5. What Would I Do Without You (5:13)
6. A Sense of Wonder (7:11)
7. Boffyflow and Spike (3:09)
8. If You Only Knew (2:58)
9. Let the Slave (Incorporating the Price of Experience) (5:30)
10. A New Kind of Man (3:30)
11. Crazy Jane On God (alternative take) (3:51)
12. A Sense of Wonder (alternative take) (6:06)

Van Morrison, guitar, piano, vocals
John Allair, Hammond organ
Bob Doll, trumpet
Pee Wee Ellis, tenor saxophone
Chris Michie, guitar
David Hayes, bass
Tom Donlinger, drums
Pauline Lazano, backing vocals
Bianca Thornton, backing vocals
Moving Hearts, on “A Sense of Wonder” and “Boffyflow and Spike”

Digitally remastered