Tubeway Army – Replicas (1979/2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Gary Numan & Tubeway Army – Replicas (1979/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 00:42:12 minutes | 761 MB | Genre: Rock, New Wave
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | @ Beggars Banquet

Replicas is the second and final album by British band Tubeway Army, released in 1979. After this, Tubeway Army frontman Gary Numan would continue to release records under his own name, though the musicians in Tubeway Army would continue to work with him for some time. Replicas was the first album of what Numan later termed the “machine” phase of his career, preceding The Pleasure Principle and Telekon, a collection linked by common themes of a dystopian science fiction future and transmutation of man/machine, coupled with an androgynous image and a synthetic rock sound.

By the release of their second album, Replicas, Gary Numan was the undisputed focal point and leader of icy electro-punkers Tubeway Army. And the move proved to be massively successful back home in the U.K., where both the album and the single “Are ‘Friends’ Electric?” topped the charts. The band had made a conscious effort to streamline the sound heard on its 1978 self-titled debut – the distorted guitar riffs were played on Moog synthesizers instead, and Numan had perfected his faux-space-age persona. And the paranoia that is very evident in the lyrics and vocals on Numan’s next release, The Pleasure Principle, can be detected on Replicas. Another near-perfect album by the band, highlights are many – “Me! I Disconnect from You,” “The Machman,” “You Are in My Vision,” and one of the most underrated new wave/synth-driven compositions of the whole era, the chilling ballad “Down in the Park”.

01 – Me, I Disconnect From You
02 – Are ‘Friends’ Electric?
03 – The Machman
04 – Praying To The Aliens
05 – Down In The Park
06 – You Are In My Vision
07 – Replicas
08 – It Must Have Been Years
09 – When The Machines Rock
10 – I Nearly Married A Human