Tony Bennett – I Left My Heart In San Francisco (1962/2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Tony Bennett – I Left My Heart In San Francisco (1962/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 32:18 minutes | 685 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Label: Columbia

I Left My Heart in San Francisco is revered vocalist Tony Bennett’s 1962 album. The record peaked at number 5 on the Billboard pop charts and is one of Bennett’s best selling albums. The record features the popular title track, along with “Smile”, “Love for Sale”, “The Best Is Yet to Come” and more!

Along with his producer, Ernest Altschuler, and his arranger/pianist, Ralph Sharon, Tony Bennett had been searching for a repertoire and a musical approach beyond his long-gone pop work with Mitch Miller of the early ’50s and his artistically pleasing but commercially dicey jazz work of the mid- to late ’50s. It seemed to be a combination of Broadway songs and other contemporary material, carefully selected and arranged to show off Bennett’s now-burnished vocals, which, as he approached the end of his thirties, were starting to be located in a more comfortable range closer to a baritone than a tenor. With this album, they found the key, not only by happening across a signature song in the title track, but also in the approach to songs like “Once Upon a Time,” a gem from the flop musical All American, and Cy Coleman and Carolyn Leigh’s “The Best Is Yet to Come,” which Bennett helped make a standard. (Frank Sinatra didn’t do it until two years later.) From here on until the world changed again toward the late ’60s, Bennett would not have to feel that he had to compromise his art for popularity, making up-tempo singles in an attempt to meet the marketplace while longing to do ballads and swing material instead. I Left My Heart In San Francisco, a gold-selling Top Ten hit that stayed in the charts almost three years, demonstrated that he could have it all. (Tony Bennett won two 1962 Grammy Awards for the title song: Record of the Year and Best Solo Vocal Performance, Male.) –AllMusic Review by William Ruhlmann

1 (I Left My Heart) In San Francisco 02:57
2 Once Upon a Time 03:03
3 Tender Is the Night 02:43
4 Smile 02:54
5 Love for Sale 03:13
6 Taking a Chance on Love 01:58
7 Candy Kisses 02:29
8 Have I Told You Lately? 02:43
9 Rules of the Road 02:39
10 Marry Young 02:25
11 I’m Always Chasing Rainbows 02:45
12 The Best Is Yet to Come 02:29

Tony Bennett — vocals
Ralph Sharon — piano; arrangements on “Love for Sale”
The Count Basie Orchestra — instruments and arrangements on “Taking A Chance on Love”
Marty Manning — arrangements on “San Francisco,” “Once Upon A Time,” “Tender is the Night,” “Candy Kisses,” and “Have I Told You Lately?”
Cy Coleman — arrangements on “Marry Young” and “The Best Is Yet to Come”
Ralph Burns — arrangements on “Smile” and “Rules of the Road”
Frank De Vol — arrangements on “I’m Always Chasing Rainbows”
Candido Camero, Sabu Martinez, and Billy Exiner — percussion on “Love for Sale”