Tom Beghin – Inside the Hearing Machine: Beethoven on His Broadwood (2017) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Tom Beghin – Inside the Hearing Machine: Beethoven on His Broadwood (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:03:26 minutes | 0,98 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © EPR-Classic

Can we get into Beethoven’s creative mind, especially in the last phase of his life when he was coping with severe hearing loss? Tom Beghin’s new recording of Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas Opus 109, 110, and 111 is an artistic exploration of how Beethoven’s musicking was shaped by the work environment he created with the help of colleagues and friends.

Not only does Beghin perform Beethoven’s trilogy of pianistic masterpieces on a magnificent new replica of Beethoven’s Broadwood piano, he uses a reconstruction of the Gehörmaschine that was mounted on the composer’s piano so he could continue to create music as his hearing declined.

“You do hear better when you bring your head under this machine, don’t you?,” André Stein asked Beethoven. Two centuries later, we too can bring our heads under the machine and wonder: Do we hear Beethoven differently? Beghin draws us inside the hearing machine, where we feel as well as hear the essence of Beethoven’s rambunctious and irresistibly poetic musical vibrations. Inside the Hearing Machine invites us into the multisensory playground of a deaf composer for whom the machine was more than a hearing aid and who interacted with his instrument through much more than sound.


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Sonata in E Major, Opus 109 (comp. 1820, publ. 1821)
1. I. Vivace ma non troppo – Adagio espressivo 03:35
2. II. Prestissimo 02:41
3. III. Andante molto cantabile ed espressivo 12:20

Sonata in A-flat Major, Opus 110 (comp. 1821–1822, publ. 1822)
4. I. Moderato cantabile molto espressivo 05:52
5. II. Scherzo. Allegro molto 02:38
6. III. Adagio, ma non troppo – Fuga. Allegro ma non troppo 09:39

Sonata in C Minor, Opus 111 (comp. 1821–1822, publ. 1823)
7. I. Maestoso – Allegro con brio ed appassionato 09:31
8. II. Arietta. Adagio molto semplice e cantabile 17:10

Tom Beghin, piano
John Broadwood & Sons (London, 1817, serial number 7362)
replica by Chris Maene (Ruiselede, 2013)
Tuning: well-temperament by Vallotti/Young (1799), a1 = 430 Hz