Theatrum Affectuum – Nicola Matteis: Most ravishing things (Music from the Books of Ayres) (2020) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Theatrum Affectuum – Nicola Matteis: Most ravishing things (Music from the Books of Ayres) (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:13:23 minutes | 1,46 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front cover | © Aeolus

An Italian in 17th-century London: For London’s musical life, which was informed by the middle classes, Matteis wrote diverse works incorporating influences from Italy, France, and England. The ensemble “Theatrum affectuum” presents the largely short pieces from Matteis’s “Books of Ayres” as a sparkling, multifaceted cosmos: virtuoso and intimate, bawdy and elegant, intellectual and down-to-earth, rip-snorting and mellifluous…

Theatrum affectuum has chosen the later versions of the pieces with a second upper voice, performing them with violin and recorder; the continuo group consists of cello, lute, and harpsichord or organ.

Theatrum affectuum has performed together since 2003 in Europe and Japan. The ensemble has a very international makeup, with musicians from Germany, Japan, France, and Italy. Usually led by recorder and violin, the ensmble has dedicated itself to the instrumental music of the 17th and 18th centuries, with major roles being played by the knowledge of Baroque forms of expression and by improvisation.


01. Preludio. Prelude: Presto
02. Adagio
03. Per far la mano. Quick passages to make a hand: Presto
04. Sarabande facile
05. Fuga. A Fuga: Prestissimo
06. Ayre for a Guitarre either with a Base or without
07. Adagio
08. Burlesca. Mocking Tune: Allegro
09. Preludio. A Prelude: Adagio
10. Fuga: Prestissimo
11. Aria. Another Ayre: Prestissimo
12. Preludio. Prelude after the Italian manner: Adagio
13. Preludietto: Brisk
14. Fuga. A quick Fuga: Prestissimo
15. Arioso. A slow thing with double stops
16. Sarabanda: Adagio
17. Aria ò pur Rondeau: Prestissimo
18. Un poco di Grave trà la Maniera Italiana e la Francese
19. Aria: Allegro
20. Ground after the Scotch Humour. A Pretty hard ground after the Scotch Humour to make a hand: Allegro
21. Thro’ the Wood Laddie
22. Aria for the Flute. Ayre: Presto
23. Sarabanda. Saraband: Adagio
24. Gavotta con divisioni. Gavotta with variations
25. Clout the Caldron
26. Preludio in D la sol rè. A Prelude: Presto
27. Fuga in fantasia. Fuga in Fancy: Presto
28. A quick motion with a Running Bass: Prestissimo
29. Ground in D la sol rè per far la mano. A Ground with several divisions: Allegro
30. Sonata. A Sonata: Adagio – Adagio
31. Fuga. Fuga with first and second treble altogeather
32. Corrente alla maniera Francese. Courant after the French manner
33. Aria. A slow Ayre: Adagio, Presto
34. Fuga. Another Fuga: Presto
35. Aria con la sua divisione. Ayre with a division
36. Gigg. Jigg: Prestissimo
37. Passaggio à solo. A single passage
38. Preludio à due corde. Prelude with double stops: Adagio
39. Aria Amorosa. Ayre: Adagio
40. Allegro. A brisk thing: Prestissimo
41. Ground, Bizzarie Sopra un Basso Malinconico. A pretty hard ground: Adagio

Theatrum affectuum:
Andreas Böhlen, recorder
Ayako Matsunaga, violin
Pierre-Augustin Lay, cello
Giangiacomo Pinardi, lute, theorbo
Takashi Watanabe, harpsichord, organ