The Wild Tchoupitoulas – The Wild Tchoupitoulas (1976/2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

The Wild Tchoupitoulas – The Wild Tchoupitoulas (1976/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 35:06 minutes | 1,37 GB | Genre: Pop, World, Native American
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Front cover | © Island Records

The Wild Tchoupitoulas is a 1976 album by the New Orleans Mardi Gras Indian tribe The Wild Tchoupitoulas. The album features the “call-and-response” style chants typical of Mardi Gras Indians. Vocals were provided by George Landry, as “Big Chief Jolly”, as well as other members of his Mardi Gras tribe. Instrumentation was provided in part by members of the New Orleans band The Meters. The album also notably features Landry’s nephews, the Neville Brothers, providing harmonies and some of the instrumentation. While not a commercial success, the effort was well received critically and the experience recording it encouraged the four Neville brothers to perform together for the first time as a group. Meaningful of the geographic location of New Orleans as a Caribbean city, “Meet de Boys on the Battlefront” is based on the melody and rhythm of Trinidadian calypso artist Lord Invader’s 1943 “Rum and Coca Cola” made famous in the U.S. by The Andrew Sisters in 1944. In 2012 the album was added to the U.S. Library of Congress’ National Registry, a designation of “cultural, artistic and historic importance to the nation’s aural legacy.”

The Wild Tchoupitoulas — a group of Mardi Gras Indians headed by George ‘Big Chief Jolly’ Landry — only released one album, but that one record caused a sensation upon its initial 1976 release. It was one of the first records of the album-oriented rock generation that captured the heady gumbo of New Orleans R&B and funk. Landry may have fronted the Wild Tchoupitoulas, but the key to the record’s success was his nephews, Charles and Cyril Neville, who headed the rhythm section. They drafted in their brothers, Art and Aaron, to harmonize, and thereby unwittingly gave birth to the band that became the Neville Brothers. Still, the fact that The Wild Tchoupitoulas ranks among the great New Orleans albums isn’t because of the Nevillles themselves, but the way the Wild Tchoupitoulas lock into an extraordinary hybrid that marries several indigenous New Orleans musics, with swampy, dirty funk taking its place in the forefront. There are only eight songs, and they are all strung together as if they’re variations on the same themes and rhythms. That’s a compliment, by the way, since the organic, flowing groove is the key to the album’s success. ~~AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1. Brother John 03:34
2. Meet De Boys On The Battlefront 03:23
3. Here Dey Come 04:05
4. Hey Pocky A-Way 03:58
5. Indian Red 07:20
6. Big Chief Got A Golden Crown 04:00
7. Hey Mama (Wild Tchoupitoulas) 04:45
8. Hey Hey (Indian Comin) 04:01

Big Chief Jolly, vocals
Second Chief, vocals
Trail Chief, vocals
Flag Boy, vocals
Spy Boy, vocals
Art Neville, keyboards, background vocals
Charles Neville, percussion, background vocals
Cyril Neville, congas, background vocals
Aaron Neville, piano, background vocals
Ziggy Modeliste, drums
Leo Nocentelli, guitar
George Porter, Jr., bass
Teddy Royal, guitar
Willie Harper, background vocals