The Monkees – Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn & Jones Ltd. (1967/2013) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

The Monkees – Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn & Jones Ltd. (1967/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 35:49 minutes | 806 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: HDTracks | @ Rhino

Another #1 album, Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn & Jones, LTD.  came out in November ’67 and debuted the all-time Monkees classics “Pleasant Valley Sunday” – a #3 pop single written by Goffin & King – and “Words,” a Boyce & Hart number, which hit #11. It also features their inspired version of Harry Nilsson’s “Cuddly Toy,” making the Monkees one of the major acts to cover his work. It has been certified platinum.

After wresting control of the Monkees from Don Kirschner and recording the very good Headquarters album as a mostly self-contained unit, the bandmembers returned to using studio musicians to augment their sound as well as looking outside the group for the majority of the songs on their fourth album, Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn & Jones Ltd. Whatever the reason for the decision, the resulting album is one of their best. Filled with hooky pop like “She Hangs Out” and the Harry Nilsson-penned “Cuddly Toy,” psychedelic ravers “Daily Nightly” and “Star Collector” (both of which feature the newly invented Moog synthesizer), Mike Nesmith-produced rockers (“Love Is Only Sleeping”), and ballads (the lovely “Don’t Call on Me”), the album is filler-free and fun-filled. That it contains three of their finest songs (“Words,” “Pleasant Valley Sunday,” and the song that “invented” country-rock for better or for worse, “What Am I Doing Hangin’ ‘Round?”) means that not only is it one of the Monkees’ best, it is one of 1967’s best. To think that both this album and Headquarters came out the same year! Most bands would be lucky to have two albums this good come out their entire career. Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn & Jones Ltd. is a must-have for any fan of smart, fun, and exciting ’60s pop. It doesn’t get much better than this.

01 – Salesman
02 – She Hangs Out
03 – The Door Into Summer
04 – Love Is Only Sleeping
05 – Cuddly Toy
06 – Words
07 – Hard To Believe
08 – What Am I Doing Hangin’ ‘Round
09 – Peter Percival Patterson’s Pet Pig Porky
10 – Pleasant Valley Sunday
11 – Daily Nightly
12 – Don’t Call On Me
13 – Star Collector