The Keynotes – Get On That Gospel Train (1973/2016) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

The Keynotes – Get On That Gospel Train (1973/2016) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 43:34 minutes | 799 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front Cover| © MPS

This album is quite a surprise! The 25-strong mixed Afro-American gospel group from the San Francisco Bay area expands the traditional black gospel/spiritual lexicon with rich modern harmonies and sophisticated counterpoint. Every piece presents a unique, modern, multi-dimensional interpretation of the original gospel. For the most part the choir sings a cappella, but on four pieces a quartet of crack West Coast jazz musicians in varying groupings accompany The Keynotes. They include pianist George Cables, famous for his work with Frank Zappa as well as a myriad of successful fusion albums, and saxophonist/flutist Hadley Caliman, known for his work with Freddie Hubbard and Gerald Wilson, among others.

Lord I Want to Be Ready starts off with Duke’s vibrant piano before the choir takes over. Canaan’s Land is played with a Latin beat and solos by Caliman on flute and Duke on piano, segueing into a more traditional gospel. Wonderful Word of Love plays out in a gorgeous lilting ¾ with a jazz interlude featuring flute, and Dick Berk’s crisp drumming accompanies portions of Ring Dem Bells. Sung a cappella, the remaining eight pieces continue their mix of traditional gospel and modern arrangements, with vocal solos soaring over the resonant backgrounds – a special pleasure indeed!

01 – Lord I Want to Be Ready
02 – Canaan’s Land
03 – Nobody Knows the Trouble
04 – Wonderful Words of Life
05 – Ringa Dem Bells
06 – Ezekiel Saw De Wheel
07 – More About Jesus
08 – It’s a Blessing
09 – Walk Together Children
10 – Time Is Gonna Bring About a Change
11 – Now I Belong to Jesus
12 – Climbing up the Mountain
13 – It’s About Time

Produced by Baldhard G. Falk. Engineered by Jim Gaines.
Recorded on November 27, 1971 at Pacific Recording Studios, and on December 21, 1971 at Wally Heider Recording, San Francisco.
Digitally Remastered.

George Duke – keyboards
Hadley Caliman – flute
Colieen Pierre-Louie – vocals
Michael Chiles – vocals
Ernest Kinsey – vocals
Carma Lynn Griffin – vocals
Linda Dulan – vocals
Eddie Anderson – vocals
John Harris – vocals