The J. Geils Band – Freeze Frame (1981/2014) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

The J. Geils Band – Freeze Frame (1981/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 41:07 minutes | 1,78 GB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover | @ Capitol Records

Freeze-Frame was The J. Geils Band’s 12th album, originally released in 1981. The record quickly became the group’s biggest seller, reaching number one on the Billboard 200 album chart and holding the spot for four consecutive weeks. Keyboardist/vocalist Seth Justman, with help from vocalist Peter Wolf, composed all of the titles on the album. Freeze-Frame features their number one hit song “Centerfold”, along with titles “Freeze Frame” and “Angel in Blue”.

Tempering their bar band R&B with a touch of new wave pop production, the J. Geils Band finally broke through into the big leagues with Freeze Frame. Fans of the hard-driving rock of the group’s ’70s albums will find the sleek sound of Freeze Frame slightly disorienting, but the production gives the album cohesion. Good-time rock & roll remains at the core of the group’s music, but the sound of the record is glossier, shining with synthesizers and big pop hooks. With its singalong chorus, “Centerfold” exemplifies this trend, but it’s merely the tip of the iceberg. “Freeze Frame” has a great stop-start chorus, “Flamethrower” and “Piss on the Wall” rush along on hard-boogie riffs, and “Angel in Blue” is terrific neo-doo wop. There are still a handful of throwaways, but even the filler has a stylized, synthesized flair that makes it enjoyable, and the keepers are among the band’s best.

01 – Freeze-Frame
02 – Rage In The Cage
03 – Centerfold
04 – Do You Remember When
05 – Insane, Insane Again
06 – Flamethrower
07 – River Blindness
08 – Angel In Blue
09 – Piss On The Wall

Produced by Seth Justman. Engineered by Dave Thoener.
Recorded at Long View Farm Studios in North Brookfield, Massachusetts.
Mixed by Steve Marcantonio. Mastered by Joe Brescio.

Peter Wolf – vocals
Seth Justman – keyboards, vocals
Magic Dick – harmonicas, saxophone
J. Geils – guitars
Danny Klein – bass, flex bass
Stephen Bladd – drums, vocals