The Isley Brothers & Santana – Power Of Peace (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

The Isley Brothers & Santana – Power Of Peace (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 01:06:08 minutes | 816 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Legacy Recordings

Led by the legendary Ronald Isley on lead vocals and the album’s main producer/arranger Carlos Santana on lead guitar, rhythm guitar, percussion and background vocals, Power of Peace covers songs first made familiar by the Chambers Brothers (“Are You Ready”, “Love, Peace, Happiness”), Swamp Dogg (“Total Destruction to Your Mind”), Stevie Wonder (“Higher Ground”), Billie Holiday (“God Bless the Child”), Eddie Kendricks (“Body Talk”), Curtis Mayfield (“Gypsy Woman”), Muddy Waters/Willie Dixon (“I Just Want to Make Love to You”), Dionne Warwick/Jackie DeShannon (“What the World Needs Now is Love Sweet Love”), Marvin Gaye (“Mercy Mercy Me – The Ecology”), Leon Thomas (“Let the Rain Fall on Me”) and Sy Miller and Jill Jackson (“Let There Be Peace on Earth”). Power of Peace also premieres a new song, “I Remember”, written and sung by Cindy Blackman Santana.

Ever committed, Carlos Santana and the Isley Brothers locked themselves in a studio to produce this Power Of Peace album that combines soul, funk, blues, rock, jazz and pop with true craftsmanship. Made up of covers for the most part, this album, co-signed by the famous guitarist of Mexican origin and the masters of funk, includes titles by Stevie Wonder (Higher Ground), Billie Holiday (God Bless The Child), Curtis Mayfield (Gypsy Woman), Marvin Gaye (Mercy Mercy Me – The Ecology), Burt Bacharach (What The World Needs Now Is Love Sweet Love) and Willie Dixon (I Just Want to Make Love to You). A perfect selection, at the heart of which shines an original song, I Remember, written and performed by Cindy Blackman, i.e. Mrs Santana …

01 – Are You Ready People
02 – Total Destruction to Your Mind
03 – Higher Ground
04 – God Bless the Child
05 – I Remember
06 – Body Talk
07 – Gypsy Woman
08 – I Just Want to Make Love to You
09 – Love, Peace, Happiness
10 – What the World Needs Now Is Love Sweet Love
11 – Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)
12 – Let the Rain Fall On Me
13 – Let There Be Peace On Earth