The Glass Prism – Poe Through The Glass Prism (1969/2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

The Glass Prism – Poe Through The Glass Prism (1969/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 31:11 minutes | 731 MB | Genre: Pop, Pop Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © RCA – Legacy

The debut release from Pennsylvania quartet Glass Prism sets the poetry of Edgar Allan Poe to grandiose psychedelic arrangements — the concept’s more than a bit suspect, of course, but there’s no denying the album’s ambition or its execution. Both Tom Varano and Augie Christiano are imaginative composers skilled at folding classical and jazz precepts into the hard rock idiom, and their nuanced arrangements (dominated by chiaroscuro shades of funereal organ) artfully convey the melancholy and macabre at the heart of Poe’s verse. Equally impressive are Glass Prism’s four-part harmonies, employed most effectively on songs like “El Dorado.” ~ Jason Ankeny


01. The Raven
02. To
03. To One in Paradise
04. Eldorado
05. The Conqueror Worm
06. A Dream Within a Dream
07. The Happiest Day, The Happiest Hour
08. Alone
09. Beloved
10. Hymn
11. A Dream